Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah - Ethiopian CK2 AAR

SuperBeaverInc.

Groucho
Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah
An Ethiopian Crusader Kings II AAR

Back in August in the main CK2 thread, someone suggested I do an AAR. So I decided I would take a shot at it. With 478 hours of CK2 experience I needed to make it something a bit challenging. After looking through some of my options I settled on Ethiopia. Ethiopia provides a decent challenge initially, and I've never tried playing them before, so I could easily totally screw things up.

Settings:

Version Vanilla v.1.1111
Difficulty Hard
Enabled DLC Sword of Islam, Legacy of Rome, Sunset Invasion, The Republic, The Old Gods
Starting Character King Anbasa I Wedem Solomonid of the Solomonid Dynasty

I decided on hard difficulty as I wanted it to be somewhat challenging, but I hate the very hard setting where fighting wars just becomes torturous. Hard difficulty gives the AI +10% tax, +0.25 army morale, +50% levy reinforcement rate, and 50% attrition. All of the large DLC, as well as most of the cosmetic DLC is activated. I decided to include Sunset Invasion, because why not. Adds a little fun and wackiness into the mix in the form of bloodthirsty Aztecs.

Tables of Contents

Prelude

The year is 867. The Karlings rule half of Europe, Vikings are terrorizing and raiding throughout Britain, and Byzantium is on its slow decline to its own demise in a few centuries time. But forget all that, cause we are Ethiopia and all we need to worry about is our own survival. The current rulers of Ethiopia are the Solomonid dynasty, who claim lineage to King Solomon. Hence the name, and the whole "Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah" thing.