From a complete Noob's perspective...Part 2...

CivNoob

Chieftain
Good day all,

Having left it with you all the last time, I'd began my first game and gave up on it after the first hour, as I completely wasted about 25 moves trying to figure everything out.

Well, my first and second full game, I'm proud to say were victories (Chieftain albeit), with Abe Lincoln and Otto VB respectively. My first full game lasted probably 4 hours and the second about 2 hours. I began to feel pretty proud of myself, so I decided to skip warrior level and go right to king...ahh yes, the male ego. That game didn't go so well...Got zombie stomped by Russia within about 75 minutes. I wasn't dead, but I was dead to rights, so I shut it off knowing full well that I had stepped over my abilities.

Now, I'm about 2.5 hours into an epic game on Warrior mode and things are going okay, not great, not terrible, and good ol' Otto and the gang seem to be trending upwards as we strive to conquer the last of Abe and then on to the Romans.

I do have a couple of questions for the more experienced players out there:

How do you manage your cities as they begin to grow in numbers? Do you set all workers on balanced, do you go heavy on one category in each city, or otherwise?

What do you look for in a plot of land that says, 'Yes, put settlers here'? Do you spread your cities out, keep them close together, or settle them close to enemy territory to make attacks easier?

I think my biggest issue is to know get my head around managing a long game. The intricracies of this game is mindboggling, and I guess that's what makes it so fun, I suppose.

In any event, I promised a follow up, and certainly appreciate any thoughts on the above questions.

Regards,

Mark

I do have a couple of questions for the more experienced players out there:

How do you manage your cities as they begin to grow in numbers? Do you set all workers on balanced, do you go heavy on one category in each city, or otherwise?