Food Bonuses

KingBigMac

Chieftain
Hello, first off, this is my first time posting here and I have no idea whether someone already posted a similar thread or not, but I believe that what I want to discuss is not only a fundamental part of the game, but if my suggestions were to be put into effect it would change playstyles dramatically making the game, and especially multiplayer much more dynamic and diverse.

So, food bonuses. Various percentages that increase food gain in your cities. I believe that as of now there are six of them, being:
+10% for your capital with Landed Elite in the Tradition policy tree
+15% globally from finishing the Tradition policy tree
+10% globally from Temple of Artemis ancient wonder
+10% globally from Fertility Rites religious Pantheon Belief
+15% globally from Swords into Plowshares religious Follower belief
+15% locally from Floating Gardens if you are the Aztecs and have a city near a lake or river
Now, needless to say, this amounts to a whopping 60% bonus in your capital and 50% in all your other cities, as well as even more if you play the Aztecs theoretically giving you a massive bonus!

However, if the bonus is so huge, why do players often not bother trying to get even one of these boosts? I personally love the population game and used to consider India my favorite civilization, assuming that population essentially equals everything else, production and science, which are the building blocks of a succesful empire leading into gold, culture and happiness.

Yet after some time, I realized that I really am not getting the bonuses I should, (having gotten all of them), and understood, as many of you might already, that the calculation is added only to the excess food produced by any given city.
Just as an example: