The art of efficiently ruthless warmongering

VirgilTheMad

Chieftain
Hi everyone, long time lurker (several years) and first time poster here. I'd like to first thank all of you regulars and many of you non-regulars as well for being so informative; I started playing Civ 5 back in late 2011 and Civ 4 shortly after (love them both to death, and they're both different enough that I play them both interchangeably) and without the countless insightful threads and articles here on civfanatics, I would've been completely lost.

I'm currently playing through Civ 5 BNW with every civ on King (random map, random size/number of civs, random AI personalities) before moving up to Emperor just to kind of practice and really solidify my strategies before moving up the ladder, though my win rate on King is pretty close to 100% by now. My question is this: one major area of weakness for me is effective warmongering. I can certainly defeat my foes, but I can't seem to pull off some of the crazy rushes some of you guys mention (conquering an enemy capital in the ancient/classical era for example) without seriously crashing my economy and diplomatic relations, not to mention happiness.

My current game springs to mind. I'm playing Japan on a Huge (12 civ) Pangaea map where I spawned right next to France, but fairly far away from everyone else. I started with Liberty with the objective of going wide through conquest if possible. I ended up capturing Paris in the Medieval Age with little difficulty and leaving his two remaining mediocre cities be, and while I managed to keep the rest of the world content so far, I know if I went on a further rampage against my more distant neighbors to the south (Aztecs, Byzantium) or the far east (Indonesia) I would likely become a pariah and be unable to manage happiness due to lack of luxury trading.