Can it run it?

Prof. Platypus

Chieftain
• Pre-installed Microsoft Windows 8 64-Bit
• 3rd Generation Intel Pentium (Ivy Bridge) G2020 2.90GHz Dual-Core Processor
• AMD Radeon HD 7790 1024MB GDDR5 DirectX 11 Graphics
• 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 (2x4096MB) Dual-Channel Memory (16GB Supported)
• 60GB SATA 6GB/s (SATA-III) Solid State Drive - OS & Applications
• 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6GB/s (SATA-III) Hard Drive - Storage
• Intel H77 Express Chipset Motherboard - Support for RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5 & RAID 10
• 500W Corsair Builder Series CX500 80PLUS Bronze Power Supply
• Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced Black Mini-ITX Gaming Case
• DVDRW Dual Layer DVD Rewriter (m-Disk Support) 24x DVD±R
• Onboard 2/4/5.1/7.1 Channel High Definition Audio
• 300Mbps Wireless N Adapter (Wi-Fi)
• Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter

Thats the computer i'm considering getting, can it run civ 5/civ 4 well? I also want to play games like skyrim and borderlands 2 on it, could i run those? im not very good at computers. PS im getting windows 7

Everything is fine except the Pentium processor. Pentium does not have hyperthreading, and this means that an i3 that does, performs much better running games than a pentium.

Most think hyperthreading doesn't do much for gaming, and when it's quadcores then it doesn't. An i5 quadcore simply has plenty of cores, and so an i7 isn't much better.

But testing a Pentium against an i3, shows that the i3 is much better. The only real difference is, that the i3 can use hyperthreading on it's 2 cores, and down there in the bottom of the basket, it actually matters.

So it's abit sad for your build, it has a decent graphicscard, good RAM and everything is fine except the processor which will make everything come to a halt as soon as you try to play a game that need processorpower. Which more and more modern games do.