starvation

stratego

Trying to be good.
I'm not a newbie, this is just a newbie question.

Does starvation have any effect other than a lost of a citizen point every turn?

okay, if anyone is going to answer this question, please also answer mine:

How to fix starvation? I'm in 1640AD with cities going into 16-17 points, but they are suffering from starvation. How to fix for this problem?

Originally posted by Runited

How to fix starvation? I'm in 1640AD with cities going into 16-17 points, but they are suffering from starvation. How to fix for this problem?

If you've irrigated (and railroaded) all plains/grassland/desert/floodplain tiles within the city limits, then the answer is no.
If you haven't irrigated everything yet, irrigate some more tiles...

@stratego: AFAIK, there's no other effect from starvation but the loss of one population point.

what's WLTKD?

What does this mean.. so is there a way to avoid starvation problems from the beginning?

We Love The King Day (=WLTKD).

Occurs when you have at least 50% happy citizens, pop 6 or more, NO unhappy citizens and of course no starvation.

Reduces waste and corruption, and gives you nifty fireworks above your city!

Actually, WLTKD reduces waste only. It also makes city more culture-flip resistant and propaganda resistant (last one hardly useful though).

One of the causes of starvation late in the game when you have railroads and irrigation everywhere is the food loss during anarchy when you change governments. All you need to due in this case is wait for anarchy to end and production will return to normal as long as you choose one of the governments that allow full production.

Originally posted by Svar