Victor: nobody!?!?

Jazzi

Chieftain
I'm fairly new to Civilization and have only played a few games on level 2 and 3 which I have won. The last one I played on level 3 was with England and I was going for space ship victory. In year 1964 I had full controll over the other civs' victory progress and I was just 5-6 turns away from completing the space ship, when the 'you have been defeated' and 'your civilization was overthrown by their foes' pops up! I couldn't understand anything. And I was unable to access the last page with overview of what had happened with the graph and stuff. When I clicked on it, the loading pointer went for teo seconds, and then nothing.
When I later looked at Hall of Fame, under victor it says nobody. How does that happen!? I have googled and looked all over the help-page and I have not found anything about there not being a winner. So can anyone tell me what I did wrong??

What turn was it when the defeat message appeared? It could be that you reached the last turn, and time victory was disabled. I can't even remember now if it's possible to disable time victory, but that's the best possibility I can think of.

Oh, right. 1964 isn't the final turn on any game speed, is it? :crazyeye: But then why would the victor be "nobody"?

Did you have the game on a set number of turns? IIRC, there is a setting there to limit the game to a certain number of turns. If you had that on and turned time victory off, then maybe that's what happened.

Did you have the game on a set number of turns? IIRC, there is a setting there to limit the game to a certain number of turns. If you had that on and turned time victory off, then maybe that's what happened.