Super early Oda Rush.

KingKong76

Warlord
Ok Im kinda new at Deity... won 3 times, but with the obvious... Poland, Babylon and Maya...

I just roll a ''very good'' start with Shoshone. Tons of prod, mining ressources, 2 oasis to farm around... my cap is on agold ress right next to montain, at least 3 nice spots for expo... life is good.

Then, I realise that even if I play continent 8 civ. Im on a one on one date with Oda on a farily larrge island (or tiny contnent) Im a bit worried for early rush, and trading but as I expected the other island is accesible without navigation. So fine...

That said... Turn 51, just after I lanted my 3rd city, he attacks me with TONS of Archers and Warriors.... no problem I manage... But impossible to make paece... I finaly quit on turn 140 something after 90 turns of war. Now he have CB, Pikemen and Samourai... and my 10 Crossbows and few long swords and 1-2 Knights keeps killing units after unit after units with not progress woward his city. (wich was technicaly my spot)

So, basicaly I could have continue cause my units were now 2 to 4 promotions and his... well... Anything his millitary buildings would give him cause they were dying like flies. Point is that war totaly set me back in growth and buidings and Im now 14 Tech behind, and clearly not in the path I wanted! I could not find any solutions.

Or could I?
Is that as that standard from Oda or Alex, or other super aggro to basicaly build units an nothing else and never accept peace on Diety?
What is the solution here? If there is one?

A lot of warmongers never make peace unless you do some damage to their own lands. That is why he will fight for 90 turns because you are fighting him near your own cities. The AI doesn't really care how many units he loses. He cares about his military ranking vs. yours and if you are damaging his lands. Even though you are killing many units his military score stays high because he makes many more so he keeps thinking he can win over you.