suggestion for new civic: multiculturalism

Noriad2

Emperor
This subject may lead to heated discussion so I'll post it here in its own thread. I'm not an expert on American history so I may have some details wrong.

Suggestion for new civic:

MULTICULTURALISM (in the Society civic list)
prerequisite: Minority Rights tech

==============================
background: in 1965, at the height of the Cold War, the USA adopted the Civil Rights Act and a more liberal immigration policy. At that time, communism was going strong worldwide and considered extremely dangerous. For those that are too young to have lived during the Cold War: communism was as fanatical as Islamic State today except more bloodthirsty and armed to the teeth with nuclear weapons. During the 20th century, communist leaders like Lenin, Stalin, Mao and Pol Pot together killed a hundred million people.

In 1965, A third of the world's population was already under communist rule, and many more third world countries were more sympathetic towards the Soviet Union than towards the West. At that time, the USA had racial segregation laws, and only allowed immigration from European countries. Soviet propaganda targeted various third world countries and successfully painted the West as imperialist and racist, and Western propaganda had no effective answer to that. Soviet agents also continually worked on stirring up race riots in the USA itself in order to weaken it.