Regarding Production?

Prozac1964

Warlord
Ok so I'm still new to this game, but the question of production keeps popping up in my mind. I've got a good grasp on food and gold, but I don't understand production enough to see why it is important. Sorry for this noob question.

But say I have my capital and it has 30 food, 30 production, and 30 gold. It makes me wonder how much production is enough. Like should it be 60 instead of 30, or is 30 fine?

It's pretty easy to see when I need to increase food and gold, but production seems a little elusive.

In laymens terms, can anyone help me understand the importance of production better, and how much of it I should have? Thx for any help :)

More is always better and do everything you can to increase it. Build factories, Solar plants, etc.

The thing is ... increasing food now increases your population which gives you more workers which gives you more production.

The food / production relationship is tricky. If you can build sometime in 8 turns but 12 turns would give you more food? Take the food. A bigger city will be better for you down the line.

The critical thing to watch is the 'how many turns till growth'. If it starts getting higher you're doing something wrong.

Your cities can ALWAYS use more production, but they can also ALWAYS use more food, science, and gold as well, so you have to balance.
Chances are you will do a much better job at this by allocating the tiles yourself than the city governor.

More is always better and do everything you can to increase it. Build factories, Solar plants, etc.

The thing is ... increasing food now increases your population which gives you more workers which gives you more production.

The food / production relationship is tricky. If you can build sometime in 8 turns but 12 turns would give you more food? Take the food. A bigger city will be better for you down the line.