The Apostolic Palace Guide

Yxklyx

King
*** WORK IN PROGRESS ***
The Apostolic Palace Guide

A guide is sorely needed I think. I will try to condense everything into one concise post in this thread...I am editing this right now so just refresh to see updates... of course I am no expert so if you find any errors post here and I will correct this first post.

Warning: These rules are definitive for BTS version 3.17. Normal Game Speed is assumed.

Apostolic Palace 400 :hammers: +4 :culture: +2 :gp: (prophet)

The Apostolic Palace (AP) becomes available to be built when you have researched Theology (Diplomatic Victory must also be enabled when starting the game). You must be running a State Religion in order to build it and it can only be built in a city where your State Religion holds sway. If this condition changes after you have started building it - its production will be halted until the condition is again met. After it is complete, you may switch State Religions (or to no State Religion); however, the Palace always retains the religion that your Civ had when you completed it. This religion is called the AP Religion. The Palace allows a religion to play a major part in international affairs, centuries before the United Nations makes its appearance. All effects (except for possible Unhappiness from Defiance) of the AP cease when the current owner of the AP has gained the knowledge of Mass Media. Note that the AP can coexist with the United Nations.

--- Owner
The Owner of the AP is the Civ that owns the city in which the AP is in. The Owner is always one of the two candidates for the Resident Election - regardless of his current religious or Defiance status. Note that the owner is not necessarily a Full Member.

--- Resident