Are the Iroquois really that bad?

Cytoplasm

Chieftain
I can understand Venice being trash tier (because their civ might as well be called "single city challenge"), but I've seen a lot of other tier lists in which they listed Iroquois as being one of the worst civs next to Carthage. Are they really that bad?

I tried Iroquois myself (because I love playing native americans) and I found that not having movement penalties when moving through forests and jungles is a pretty good bonus early game. It allows you to move your armies better. But I don't know, since I only started playing Civ V.

To quote a good and possibly well known MP player from the NQ group (filthyrobot aka saltyrobot), "All the Iroquois bonuses are detrimental to their game". This might be only skewed towards MP though.

Their first bonus (moving through forest as if road). If you move to/from road to forest/jungle you use all movement points, so it's sort of true but not really, that they are 'roads'. Long story short, to be able to move with any speed, you still have to build roads.

Unique Unit (Mohawk Warrior) - Swordsman replacement that isn't stronger than a swordsman (an already weak unit IMO). It's only 'upside' is it gets a combat bonus in forest/jungle. Long story short, 99% of the time. Mohawk = Swordsman.

Unique Building (Longhouse) - Workshop (critical building) replacement. Workshops are generally build reasonably early as they are in the tech path and are the first non situational prod building (stables and stoneworks are the others). It's a workshop with downsides.

Normal workshop = +2 prod and +10% bonus to everything
Longhouse = +2 prod and +1 prod from each worked forest tile

What is the issue with this?
You are losing a flat 10% bonus to all production to just a flat +x production.The % bonus scales throughout the game.