Why does multi suck so bad?

Mklangelo

Chieftain
I've been loving this game since Civ II but didn't take it seriously. I didn't really understand the game then but thought I did when playing Civ IV, at least had a basic grasp on it.

I took the plunge to Civ V and like it. The main thing I like is no one can come at you with a stack 40 high. LOL I'm trying to master "Prince" and am getting close.

For the first time I thought I would try multiplayer. Now I've been gaming for many years... And never have I met a more tactless, less friendly and downright rude group of gamers in my life. This is perplexing since when I come to this forum, I see a group eager to help each other and have fun with the whole thing.

What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

MK :scan:

I'll tell you what you are missing. The clans [AKA steam groups] :). Join one of the existing Civ 5 steam groups and organize matches that way, its a better experience that way. Plus if there are any crashed you can reload/resync much easier this way

I'll tell you what you are missing. The clans [AKA steam groups] :). Join one of the existing Civ 5 steam groups and organize matches that way, its a better experience that way. Plus if there are any crashed you can reload/resync much easier this way

So that accounts for the endless stream of Arsehole I meet each time I try to either host or join a Multi game? Non answer...

IT'S A GAME lol

?

Sorry not sure what you are going at? Public games can have random people, some people that are jerks sure. Most decent players don't play public games often, so not sure what you are complaining about? In civ 4 I remember it was much worse, where there would be trolls who would actively try and join a game in progress to destroy it.

There will always be jerky personalities out there, but if you join one of the steam groups you can cut down on these sorts as moderators can remove them from these groups