First time OCC game and playing as the Incans

McBean

Chieftain
As the title states this is my first time trying a OCC game as well as playing the Incans. I'm playing a King / Pangaea / Standard map. Would you consider the start shown below to be a good one? This was the first one that popped up for me.

The pros I see are:
- Flanked by mountains (defense and observatory)
- Plenty of hills next to those mountains for terrace farms.
- River

The Con
- Only seeing 1 luxury. Hopefully I'll see more once I start moving that warrior around.

When playing as the Incans is it best to utilize all hills for terrace farms or should some be used for mines in order to boost production? I know in a OCC game you want to grow as big as possible so I'm thinking all farms.

I'm skimming thru a OCC guide on here now so I'll probably start playing this one later on.

Attachments

• 2013-04-09_00001.jpg
    2013-04-09_00001.jpg
    217.2 KB · Views: 179
Well the first thing is, move your warrior NE or E to peek around a little more.

In addition to only having one luxury, it looks like the start really lacks food. You're going to have a lot of trouble growing beyond pop 4 or so, until you can get some terrace farms up and running.

My vote? Reroll. Since it's your first game playing OCC I would try to get a quality start to make it a little easier. Possibly 1 lux is rough (and doesn't look like you'll have many if any dupes) as well.

Personally I would reroll until I found a start that's river, on a hill, next to mountain, 2 luxes, and a couple wheat/deer/cow etc to get you started. And of course, a few nice terrace farm locations. You don't have to, but OCC could be rough without a nice start (especially if King is your normal comfort level).

This start looks challenging but could be fun with some crazy terrace farms.

All that forest though... Lots of chopping. Might not be the best start for a first time OCC but I do like challenges so I would try it.