From a complete Noob's perspective...First hour of Civ experience!

CivNoob

Chieftain
Hello All,

Well, I picked up this game on a whim, in hopes to find some peaceful time with my new PS3 and accompanying 50in Pioneer Plasma and Polk Audio surround.

I've played it now for about 1 hour, and decided to scrap the first game in full. Basically, I wasted probably 25-30+ turns forgetting to do this or that, and the other thing. I have zero experience with any of the other Civ games, so I'm fumbling throughout this process. I doubt I still have everything figured out, in fact I know I don't. There is just so much to look for and so many paths to walk down...it's a bit overwhelming for me, as I'm a FPS and sports guy, never ventured into this realm before.

Frankly the game is probably one of the coolest games I've played, yet one of the most complicated to learn. The Civopedia or whatever that thing is isn't that great, albeit some have purported it's supreme excellence (not on this site, but on other reviews I read pre-purchase).

I think the graphics are spectacular, and the game play plenty fast for someone who probably plays exponentially slower than the game would allow.

I also think this game is probably one of the best value's on the marketplace, as there are ultimately infinite games that can be had and never one will be alike. That's pretty sweet...

All in all, I need a lot of help, and am thinking I'm going to lose a lot of sleep...I can see this becoming a habit, one that my wife isn't going to like.

I'll make another report when I hit my first milestone of actually getting through a game without getting so frustrated that I turn it off and start over, win or lose.

Cheers and I hope you all are enjoying the game as well...

Regards,

Mark

Hope you like it and continue to enjoy.