Random Freeze Crashes

miked1991

Warlord
Hi,
I've been having problems more and more with civ 5 freezing up on me whilst I play. The display will simply freeze however the sound is unaffected. There is no way to fix the problem other than to hard reboot the computer. These freezes can occur at any time, infact they rarely happen between turns, it's usually just halfway through the turn it freezes whilst I'm ordering my units. I'm not sure exactly when this problem started but I think it has been getting worse since G&K. I've tried re-installing CIV but no luck with that.

I'm no techie so I don't know what's up but my guess is this is to do with not having a great graphics card? I have an i7 processor, 1TB hard disc, and 6 GB of RAM. I don't know the specs of my graphics card (nor how to find out) but I was told that the graphics card was the weakest part of the pc when I bought it.

Could anyone explain what my problem might be? Is my assessment correct?

You also might want to check the size of the save files. How mauch available space do you have in your hard drive?

My PC is split into two 500 GB drives, and I've still got more than 300 GB free on each one.

I should also have mentioned that the crashes appear to be independant to the point of the game. I've had problems on turn 30 just as much as I have had on turn 300.

Have you cleaned out the dust from inside the computer since you bought it?

It could be heat related, or your hard drive is starting to show signs of failure.

If your graphics card is near the minimum requirement, and it could be getting hot too, it is hard to say what is exactly going on unless you can post your diagnostics. If you type directx in help, it should give you a selection diagnosing directx and running that will tell you what graphics you have.