Thank you guys

So after reading Civ Fanatics and a few restarts I can honestly say I owe my two Deity victories to you guys. I started playing Deity from day 1, and only through reading here did I manage to win my games.

I restarted a great many games I could have won probably, but I wanted to experiment with startup to get the hang of early game. My first victory was a Cultural one as Poland. Poland is OP for sure. At end game i had maxed Traditon, Aesthetics, Exploration, Freedom and had started gonig for Patronage because I had nothing else to do. I could have won much sooner but I wanted to fill Broadway in with GMs instead of popping them to take down the biggest cultural civ earlier.

Second victory was a space launch with Catherine. Very standard 4 city tall game but Moscow started tucked in a crescent of mountains, next to a river with 3 gems and marble (on grassland). I wanted to rush nukes but they ended up just basically scaring Wu Zetian from declaring and I launched without a single DoW on me.

I'll try to win an England Archipelago (low sea level ) domination game now. Then probably go for a Pangea Mongols game.

Here are some of the things I've found about Civ 5 Deity:

1. Not all games are winnable
2. Tradition is OP
3. Religion is not worth it on Standard size unless you get lucky or are a faith civ
4. Pre ideology wars generally slow you down and are too terrain dependant, barring some exceptional early war civs and a specific map setup
5. A lot depends on which civs end up as your neighbors

It reminds me, I'll upload a day one of this nightmare archipelago map. Where I was DoWed something like T60.

I wonder if not all games are really winnable.

Lol dude I'm sad now I didn't save the game wher Pedro carpet rushed me with cbows and swords.

All those deity challenges posted on this site (sometimes with crazy rules) proved that all maps (not handbuild in world builder :)) are winnable.