AI and game settings in Civ4 BTS - questions

Stormbinder

Chieftain
Hi guys,

I am long time Civ 1/2/3 fan, but I am late to the Civ4 party.

I only started playing this game (BTS edition) few weeks ago. So far I love it for the most part. IMHO one of the best features of civ4 is that micromanagement was reduced a lot without sacrificing the depth of the gameplay.

I've just finished the game on Prince difficulty level (large map, standard speed/settings). I have beaten AI easily while learning the ropes. Now that I've learned the basics I am thinking about increasing the difficulty and perhaps tweaking the rules a bit.

I have several questions about AI and game settings, and I hope some of the expert players around here could help me with them.

1. Question for the veterans - could you please elaborate in as much details as you can on the connections between game's speed, game's map size, game's map type on one side, and AI difficulty on the other?

In other words how can I make AI more challenging and enchance game experience for myself?

2. Should I turn AI to "aggressive" and turn "restless barbarians" ON to get the most interesting and rewarding game experience?

3. What speed people are mostly playing this game - Epic or Normal? (I think marathon is probably too slow for me) How does it affect AI?

4. Same questions regarding map types and map size.

5. Are there any popular mods that improve AI? For example I've heard about unofficial BTS patch. Does it improve AI in a significant way, and do most people play the game with this unofficial patch? Are there any other AI mods that are recommended?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Map size and gamespeed can, but must not affect the difficultie. I.g. bigger maps on faster speeds make military games a bit harder. Big maps obviously mean longer walks to reach someone.

Another thing on big maps is - the game becomes increasingly slow towards late game. Even on good computers.