Saved by the same random event twice in 7 turns.

Bigv32

Prince
I was playing a game on prince and I am sad to say that I did not build up a good military early enough in favor of buildings (I am a builder). Anyway, so I had the second largest empire on my standard pangea map, but little military as said above. I was post democracy in the tech tree and was running free market (key factor). I though it would be a good idea to sign two defensive pacts with the only other two AI on the map that were not vassals of Kubla Kane (spelling). Anyway, what I did not realize was that they were not prepared for a war just like I was. Kubla got very mad at me because he did not like my new "allies". The fact was, the other two had a row of cities between me and Kubla, so my thinking was that their cities would take a brunt of Kublas attacks and I would have enought time to get a peaceful victory of some kind. I was wrong.

My idea did not work. Kubla declared war and his two vassals did the same. His armies were bigger than I thought ( the only time an AI has kept most of his army out of his cities where I could not see them). I realized that my AI allies would fall, so I needed to help. I shifted a large portion of my cities to military and sent help to my allies. I was running with an economy that I did not feel could wage a war outside my borders, so I gave my allies my troops. They did not help. Kubla and his allies broke through my allies cities and attacked me. Realizing I had no chance, I switched to pure military civics (except for free market). I was able to hold most of my outer cities for about twenty turns, but like the borg in star trek, Kubla eventually broke throught my lines. Slowly, my economy failed. This game was before I updated with the latest patch, so I had inflation at about 85% at this point in the game. I had no funds and was running out of money even with all my sliders at 0%. Slowly but surely, my cities fell.