How do you beat a great library rush?

Skidude04

Chieftain
I just started playing Civ 5 GK with some of my friends. They have been playing civ for quite a while and have worked out their builds pretty well, and obviously, they seem to do pretty well with their overall game.

One of my friends almost always rushes writing for the great library for the free tech, and he usually works it out so he can get free iron working. His GL is usually really fast. Then since he has some free tech, it seems like he ends up getting oracle for the free policy, and he just snowballs from there.

Do I try to kill him? If we're on separate continents and he does all this, how do I even catch up? It is so frustrating to feel like I can't even go the GL route when I play with him because he always beats me to it. It feels like I'm forced to go other ways.

Any suggestions?

Do I try to kill him? If we're on separate continents and he does all this, how do I even catch up? It is so frustrating to feel like I can't even go the GL route when I play with him because he always beats me to it. It feels like I'm forced to go other ways.

Any suggestions?

Early wonders rarely give you an auto win. You better expand fast and build the NC after 3 or 4 cities up. If you really want the GL, you must calculate at which turn you gonna get it. At quick speed, if you can't get it in 25 turns or less, it's surely a gamble.

Most of the time the best strategy is to NOT build early wonders. You obviously need practice, most of the time new players overestimate the value of world wonders.

If this is a 1v1, the GL can be an auto-win IF you went for the same strategy. If you ignore the GL entirely, it is possible that you would have a better empire overall, and you could slowly outpace him. Or if you rush units, you could raze everything he has and prevent his worker(s) from improving his city(ies). Eventually you will outpace him.