Emperor problems

mtgfreak

Massing Artillery
ok, this is my first time playing emperor and i just want to know if i have a shot at winning

breif history of my empire: got off to a good start as persia, always painfully behind in techs (although i got a lot from Carthage for a peace treaty), got into a despotic golden age unfortuately and i am making a beeline towards military trad for calvary.

note that it might not be able for dl cause of my router

Had a quick peak at your sav and I must say for a first attempt at emperor it isn't that bad. Lot of room for improvement however ;)

Quick gain: set science 10% higher and get Inv. 1 turn earlier increasing chances to trade for Mono and/or Rep.

Your biggest problem is called infra. 5 workers and some captured ones is way to few. Many of your cities use unworked tiles. Which means you're not getting the shields and income potentially available.

Also, your army is very strong but large as well and taking 12gpt. And most cities are still building more units. You could be planning another war of course, but that planning is seriously hindered by a lack of mapknowledge.

Then there is only one Marketplace built, those are great for both income and using the 3rd lux for extra happiness.

Those 28 Immortals can be of value for some more expansion thru limited wars but my main recommendation is:
- Build workers and marketplaces.
- Get more mapknowledge using galleys along the coast and horsies over land.
- Build a harbor somewhere as soon as you spot AI that has one as well. Opens trade options.

Some remarks on aspects that can't be reversed in this game:
- Your build style is way to open. Many tiles in the core won't be of use until after Hospitals are build. Use a city-tile-tile-city build.
- Get explorers out early in the game. This gives techtrading options much earlier in the game and mapknowledge as well.

After all you can win this game easily if you bring your infra up to standards.

Good luck and have fun!