Beginner Advice, Please

WarGameNewbie

Chieftain
I just bought Civilization III and have spent about an hour reading the 'For Beginners Only' chapter and trying out the tutorial game.

As a complete beginner to war games, I think I may have chosen the wrong starter game.

To be honest, I don't have the patience to read 100-200 pages of instructions (and trying to remember most of it) before playing.

I had hoped that the tutorial would lead me through a simple session, step by step, but it appears that the 'tutorial' game is not a true tutorial, but rather a very simple scenario.

Before I throw in the towel on this game I would like to ask whether there is a pain-free way for someone who is new to war games to learn Civ III?

Thanks for any advice!

Hello, and welcome to Civ Fanatics (CFC)! :woohoo::dance::band::dance:[party]

So, let's set your expectations. Civ3 is an empire building game, which has a significant role for waging war. A great deal of the complexity that may be worrying you is the empire building part of the game -- improving your cities, improving the terrain, choosing which technology to research. It is a turn-based strategy game, so that you can take as long as you need to complete a turn. There are *no* undo's, remember.

If those aspects are not as appealing, you may have chosen the wrong game. A big part of the appeal of the Civ series (and Civ3 in particular) are the short-term and long-term decisions you get to make. Do I declare war now, or wait 3 turns? Do I start building a world wonder, or build a settler to found another city? There are multiple ways to win the game, and both your strategy and tactics will vary depending on which victory condition you are trying for.