Tech Trading

He-Who-Hunts

2nd Legionary Cohort
Hey gang,

Just wondering if you all play with Tech trading on or off?

I've never used it since I started playing mp.

What do you folks do?

i usually have tech "brokeriing" off.

i dont like the fact that if i trade a tech to a friend.. he may turn around and trade it to someone i dont want to have that tech.

mp=multiplayer right? i would have thought no tech trading would be a total given.

Usually tech trading is off in the mp games I played. Most players are too paranoid in their diplomacy. I play with tech trading on, however.

I've played a lot of multiplayer games, some with tech trading on and some with it off. The games I play in tend to be quite large (12-18 players), and with experienced players who are heavily into diplomacy (via PM's and such). (Never played a game with tech brokering on, I dislike that option since it detracts from the thrill of diplomacy.)

Generally for these games I find having tech trading on tends to lead to all the civs eventually forming into two or three large alliances, racing through the tech tree at such a pace that sometimes military units go obsolete before they reach the frontline! However, this can be compensated for by increasing tech costs (by increasing the difficulty level or decreasing game speed).

Tech trading off leads much more to an "every man for himself" scenario, which is alright, but can become obscenely unbalanced if one player starts to pick up a decent GNP lead. (See "Civstats" for the Duniapetu game in my signature for an example of such a game.)

Basically, tech trading on tends to lead to a faster progression through the tech tree, but with most people roughly at tech par. Tech trading off means much slower tech progression through the tech tree, but the tech level of individual players can be very different (as much as a whole era or more later in the game!). :)