Is CiV up to snuff yet?

vonSharma

Chieftain
I am a grizzled civ vet going back to civ3.. I withheld from getting Civ5 because of the negative reviews (mainly the poor AI performance) on this forum despite the glowing computer game industry reviews. I was wondering if any of those who were disappointed with the initial incarnations of CiV now feel after patches and expansions that it has once again become a game worth throwing one's job and life away to play again.

Sorry if this is addressed in another thread but I searched and couldn't find anything of that sort

Without knowing exactly what you like I can`t say for sure.

I think the patches and GK made it better from the original in many parts. At least now there are a few more things that can be done in game than before...

The G&K expansion is a big step above vanilla (see the link in my sig for an introductory guide). The game isn't perfect, but you won't find nearly as many people who think it's terrible. The AI is largely competent, though not genius. Reviews of G&K on this forum have been almost universally positive.

I personally think the game is amazing right now. Some people had some stability problems with the last patch but its running smoother than ever for me. If you haven't played since release or shortly after, you will be blown away by Gods and Kings. If you haven't played at all, right now is the perfect time to give it a shot, especially with all the sales going on.

well that is what I want to hear... I should have specified that I actually love (and sometimes still have dreams about) Civ3 and that although Civ4 was fairly awesome, it just didn't create that sense of wonderment of owning an empire. I've read that CiV is actually more like Civ3 in many regards which is why a lot of people seemed turned off by it and why I am hopeful.