my worst enemy is figuring out the worst enemy penalty

KMadCandy

giggling permanoob
what follows is a typical too-long description of what has me completely befuddled about an aspect of the game, in this case the 'you have traded with our worst enemy' penalty. i saved and reloaded and did not get the penalty on the reload, and i'm not sure why.

i'm playing a game right now with more civs than i usually do, but at an easy level, to learn more about how to manipulate them etc. the politics of who to be friends with is really important in civ4 and i am not good at that part.

i started out on a continent with alex and monty. i kept them friends with me until i was ready to kill them, that's easy enough. they were both dead pretty early considering i don't tend to go to war early, and my land is my own. then i basically beelined to navigation to trade with another continent for health resources i don't have. i don't want to get the 'you have traded with our worst enemies' penalty with anybody, that one drives me up a tree, so i made sure i watched who liked who. 4 civs over there, 2 were buddhist, they were kinda buddies, 2 had no religion, they were cautious with everybody. i gave them all a bunch of techs to catch them up with me, and sent my hindu missionaries around, etc. now 3 of them are hindu, only the founder of buddhism (huayna) is sticking with it.

a few turns ago, julius declared war on brennus. their only modifiers at the time were +2 each for brothers and sisters of the faith. what made me laugh is that during the war, julius adopted OR so then brennus had a new +3 modifier towards julius.