How to Carry out War Successfully

sinistersamxiii

Chieftain
Hello everyone. I am a relatively good player however I can only win on Prince, maybe by this time King. The reason is this: I'm not good at warmongering. I mean, I am on lower levels, but I just can't find time to produce units. And when I do, It's hard for me to conquer cause the opponent always gains the upper hand. Then I make peace and regenerate the army, come again in ten turns, and fail again. And I would be able to win on higher levels if the other civs didn't attack me, cause I always have fewer armies. If I ever do get around to conquering someone else, I usually take 1-2 cities MAX because I they might come back and take them. Here's my settings: Augustus Caesar, Rome, Pangaea, quick, prince/king, all victories, no barbarians. I try and usually take a culture victory in about 2000 AD. Another problem is that I have trouble founding lots of cities, usually get 4 of them. Whether that's good or bad I'm not yet sure. Any help???

I'm not on Diety, but I do beat Emperor regularly, and my favorite method of victory is Domination. Basically it all boils down to commitment. If you want war, then build units and war. Don't mess around building culture and all the buildings needed. Build units and go into battle. You'll also want to tech to be able to have an advantage in battle. You may stick to 2-3 primary cities at first, as you'll be taking over cities as you go. Once you get a good force going, then go back and build up your cities and keep upgrading your army.

If you want to start taking cities at turn 50, then get to composite bowmen and follow up with getting to Crossbowmen. You'll find that the ranged units are really good in war, so you'll want 4+ ranged attackers when you go in after a city. I tend to ignore catapults and ballistas, as they get killed way too easily and hard to get into battle. Cannons and Artillery are very good, however.