Being Evil responsibly? Just got pwned by Stephanos as the Sheaim

Cliftor

Chieftain
That newbie here again, for my second game I wanted to try an evil Civ with the Ashen Veil.

I dunno why, but I for some reason I just assumed the Apocalypse was a "good" thing for evil civs, and for my second game I tried the Sheaim and started doing everything in my power to drive the AC up. I get the Hyboream to appear and indeed they help me out with one of my wars, but then Stephanos appears in my empire and singlehandedly destroys all my cities in a matter of just a few turns.

I was under the impression he'd be friendly. Silly me.

Obviously I'm missing something. Is there more to being an effective evil player than just trying to bring about the apocalypse?

You still have to prepare for Armageddon. Even if you are Evil, Blight will affect you. Unless you are at peace with the barbs, you will likely get a visit from one or more of the Horsemen, you will get the Hell Holes at AC 80 with barb/Infernal units on them, you will have half your guys go whacky at AC 90 and when Armageddon strikes, unless you are Basium or Hyborem, it ain't pretty.

Being Evil doesn't really benefit you much from Armageddon events, but, as mentioned, the Sheaim (whether they are Evil or not) get at least two benefits from the AC being high.

Still, you need to get your cities as healthy as possible, give your guys Courage, etc. to prepare for the counter increasing and the impending events.

Yes, I meant as Sheaim since that was the civ he mentioned jacking the armageddon counter way up with.
It should be noted that evil is not the same as wanting armageddon--only the Sheaim and the Infernal will like you if you are increasing the armageddon counter a lot, the other evil civs will have minus relations with you for it.

Other evil civs are evil for different reasons, not because they want to end the world. Most of them just want to rule it.