How does one deal with Spearman as a Horse-loving Empire?

Galgus

Emperor
I'm a bit new to the game and haven't done any serious multi-player, but Spearman seem rather strong in this game.

Trying to use a civilization with a mounted unique unit seems tough when enemies can easilly use Spearman as their standard infantry, with little penalty for not using Swordsmen.

Is there something I am missing about the advantages of Mounted units or the power of Spearman?

Ranged units to soften them up - then attack with mounted units, or use your own spearmen to take them out

If you have iron then build a swordsman help soften up spearmen, and then use the mounted to flank.

Mounted can move fast around enemy lines, and are great at picking off ranged and siege, and weak melee units. The only melee-cavalry i've had luck with early game as a main line unit would be the Cataphracts, but even they need archers as support to soften up spearmen

You should split it up into 3 groups:
First hammer them with archers/catapults then attack with spearmen/swordsmen
This should either kill or almost kill the enemy spearmen and you can ride in, smash the enemy and ride back out to heal in safety
Watch out for pikemen or the german pikeman (i like playing german)
They are cheap (german ones are really cheap) and if your enemy is smart they will catch your horses after they've attacked and slaughter them

thegingerninja

You usually want about 1 mounted unit per 2-3 other units mix of ranged and swords/pikes. With the new patch you can probably bring the ratio a little higher since extra movement will make it really easy to move in and pillage when injured. If you get the wounded damage promotion and shoot a pike with just about anything, the 50% won't matter since you have the initiative and a 33% bonus to boot.