Trying a new idea: Religion-based Domination OCC ICS. Thoughts?

Cromagnus

Deity
So I'm experimenting with this. I'm relatively new to both religion and ICS, and not much of a Domination kinda guy, so I need help.

Ok, let me explain the idea. I want to keep policy costs low while expanding wide. Puppet cities don't count towards cost, but they generate extra unhappiness and on top of that, they tend to grow out of control. Also, it's not really one-city because I will annex capitals with lots of wonders. Usually they give enough culture to compensate for the extra policy cost.

My plan is, carefully pillage and come through with workers to reduce food output, to keep my puppet city population low. Annex only the cities that I really need to. Use Holy Warriors to compensate for having only one unit producing city.

I've been experimenting with ignoring everything out of Tradition except the opener and free garrison unit recently, and otherwise going full Honor. The happiness and culture per garrison, and the free unit maintenance helps compensate for the puppeting. +1 happiness and +2 culture is better than a free monument in every city. (Although I'm not sure if that +2 culture is local culture... ie contributes to tile expansion, but I usually don't care when it's an occupied city)

So far, I can generally stagnate occupied cities at 3-4 citizens, or even less if I'm lucky, which helps keep the happiness under control. I'd like to raze cities that don't give me good luxuries, to further help with the happiness issues, but I can't afford the gaps in my expansion. It makes it hard to spread faith, and AIs resettle those spots. That's another place where this gets tricky. And god forbid a granary or aqueduct survives the capture...

Later, if I've annexed a few choice capitals, I sometimes go back into Tradition, if the timing is right, because by then, 4 free culture buildings can actually net opera houses.