Running Windows versions of Civ4 on a Mac

reif99

Chieftain
OK - I've got parallels on my mac, but not boot camp. I'm new to this whole mac thing as it is.

I need parallels for work, so is boot camp out?

In other words do I need to load windows after boot camp?

I don't really know how it works.

Is there anyway to run the windows Civ IV on parallels?

Thanks,

Reif

Hello, welcome to CFC and to the Mac :wavey:

You don't install Bootcamp as a standalone application, it is a partitioner that provides a space for Windows on your system, a wizard to run the Windows installer, and a set of drivers that you install into Windows once it is in place.

Note that Apple's Bootcamp beta has expired, and is no longer available as a download from their site. The full version is part of Leopard, the new OS version that's hitting the streets as I type this.

You can install Windows in a Bootcamp partition as above, and then tell Parallels use that same Windows installation instead of a virtual disk image. You should be able to find the information on how to do from Parallels.

There have been a few reports that Civ4 runs OK in Parallels, but others have said it is not playable. I haven't tried it. I suspect your results may depend on your hardware, Parallels can only reduce the effective graphics performance of your machine due to the software translations it has to perform to get DirectX to play through OpenGL.

Hope this helps.

Note that Apple's Bootcamp beta has expired, and is no longer available as a download from their site. The full version is part of Leopard, the new OS version that's hitting the streets as I type this.

Hmmm . . . so is there no way to get Boot Camp as a stand alone now?

Sounds like even if I can get it, I would have to reinstall Windows? <shudder>

Thanks,

Reif

No. There's no legal way to get or use Bootcamp now without buying Leopard.