• Rationalism

Votes: 29 58.0%
  • Commerce

Votes: 7 14.0%

• Total voters

AW Arcaeca

Deus Vult
Sorry if this thread has already been done before; I'm new to civ 5
And I was wondering what the more experienced players think the most useful social policies are that should be used in every game.

Personally I think Honor is pretty useful, especially in the early game when you constantly have to battle barbs. But it's also useful for the extra happiness from walls, castles, etc. I also like Piety, but I suppose it isn't quite as useful as honor.

Tradition is good if you are going to be small (up to 4 cities).
Liberty is good if you are going to be big (more than 4 cities).
Honour is always crap.
Deity is good if you want focus on religion.
Patronage if you want city states as allies.
Commerce if you have a lot of coastal cities and want to earn more gold.
Rationalism if you need more science (who doesn't?).

And later on...

Freedom if you are small, Order if you are big, Autocracy if you want the world to burn.

Tradition is good if you are going to be small (up to 4 cities).
Liberty is good if you are going to be big (more than 4 cities).
Honour is always crap.
Deity is good if you want focus on religion.
Patronage if you want city states as allies.
Commerce if you have a lot of coastal cities and want to earn more gold.
Rationalism if you need more science (who doesn't?).

And later on...

Freedom if you are small, Order if you are big, Autocracy if you want the world to burn.

Honor is the weakest of the first 3 starting policies but it's not bad at all, For conquest I'd take Honor over Autocracy any time.

Depends