Please help me with my game!

Udan mas

Chieftain
Hello everyone, I need some help with my current game, it is my first time on deity level and I decided to try and go for a diplomatic victory as Germany.

I had a great start with lots of copper but unfortunately stumbled across Attila and Austria within the first 20 turns :mad:

I have attached a screenshot of my land and I was wondering if I should settle a city on the river to the South as I am worried someone else may put one there. Any feedback of any mistakes I have made would be helpful, and i would like to know if I can still win this game or not.

PS: this is my first post on the forum, so sorry if I have left any key info out.

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 23.12.23.jpg

I think it's worth doing, I'd also make some more units since attila is looking shady (pedro could be a risk too). Just block off austrias settler first so that you can take the spot.

Well, Brazil is pretty peaceful, I think. As for Attila, he shouldn't be as much of a threat by the Renaissance.

Thing is, you don't seem to have any units close enough to block that Austrian settler. War seems to be the only option, and then take that spot for yourself before anyone else does.

Thanks for the replies everyone, its difficult to see on the picture but I am already blocking the Austrian settler in so I am going to build my own settler ASAP before anyone embarks to that area.

I have just bribed Attila to declare war on Pedro and the next turn Austria did as well so that will keep my close neighbours busy while I build up my empire.

I was wondering if my science output is to low, I am last in science despite having just built universities and stealing tech. Is 116 science by turn 150 to low or is there still time to catch up? :confused:

the coastal hill on the river looks like a fine spot.

you could have purchased the land between Cologne and the mountain to block the austrian settler, too.