Should I buy this if I'm a Civ 4 veteran?

InFeRnOgTiTaN

Chieftain
I have Civ 4 but I'm wondering if I should get this as well.

I love Civ 4 I think it's great. Does Civ Revolution complement Civ 4 or is it likely that I'll find it too 'shallow' or 'easy' or whatever you want to call it as I've read in some reviews?

If you've got some advice let me know. I have a feeling I'll get many "Civ Revolution rocks" responses!

Do any of you play Civ 4 and Revolution?

Thanks!

i played civ 4 for the longest time and to me civ rev is a great addition to the series.

dont expect the same style as it is a much more arcade style, which to me works really really well.

having playing civ since 1991 i can safely say this is a good addition and a new style for the series, well worth a look.

having said that if they do not fix the multiplayer bugs soon i shall no longer be promoting the game and ill be telling people not to get it :p

Multiplayer bugs? Which version are you playing? I'd be getting the PS3 version (if I got it).

Your endorsement is valuable since you've been around Civ for a long time - I appreciate it.

I played the demo but only briefly to check it out.

I noticed a post about no health, no religions, no corporations, etc. Is this the case? I thought one of the infinite number of cool things about Civ 4 was religious takeovers and the Apostolic Palace - nothing like a good old Holy War to cleanse the infidels lol

I realize Revolution is a different type of experience - I'll have to try the demo a few times and see if I like it I guess.

Any more tips or advice?

@ Infernogtitan
The last patch has a bug in the PS3 version so that the only way to play online is to invite friends in the game. There are a few lists around you can add players to your friend list so you'll get invited to games. So right now the PS3 online is more buggy than 360 version.