How do you win a science victory?

flipjonah

Chieftain
Hi all, I'm pretty new to civ 5 and I struggle to win against the AI. I like to go for a peaceful science victory but every time I get attacked and which ends up with them knocked out the game. And I know, i know, more cities is awesome! Not when ur Gandhi. That's y I'm wondering if there's a strategy to stop there attack without knocking them out the game. Even if I cripple them by taking 1 or 2 cities but they still attack. Plz, is there a special tatic or do I hav to hope not to be by a civ in a game?

Well it IS very simple if that's all you want. Build enough units for defense and once you repel an attack, the AI will retreat and all you need to do is accept the peace offering and not go after then in retribution :)

You can take it easy and lower the difficulty to see how to get a win and familiarize yourself with the way the turns go.
Getting a science victory requires science so make science buildings and tech technologies that will get you more science such as education.
Get citizens into science buildings and make more science that way so that your civilization can have great scientists that get you more science from their academies.
Get the rationalism social policy and make more science with it. Build scientific wonders such as great library or porcelain tower which can make you way more science in the future.
Make research agreements with other civilizations and youll make way more science that way. However, be careful with science victories because other civilizations could steal your technologies so make sure you have good police stations and constabularies with spies in your capital particularly if you make embassies.