Development of New Mod- Ideas inside

ArjunaEle

Chieftain
Hey guys,
Its been a while. First off, I'd like to say excellent work on the mods so far, I like where the ideas and creativity are going. Its nice to see such a massive community of modders out there. So, in the moment of this great Zeitgeist, I have developed a few ideas which, if implemented efficiently and smoothly with classic Civ gameplay, I believe could really add that next dimension which Civ IV failed to bring to the table since Civ III. A fan of history (I am a professor of the profession, a Wizard of Was, if it pleases you), I think Civ IV hits a lot of the key historical ideas well, but a few things it...misses badly. So here is a list of changes/mods which I think would throw Civ IV over the top.

1.) Transmission of civics by trade, immigration as well as science
2.) Transmission of technology by universities- students, teachers, immigration
3.) Technology a global movement- radiates from discovery point- discoverers can explore detailed techs (will elaborate below, this one's trickier)
• All nations receive tech after two or three turns after discovered by any nation- first nation has an advantage of exploring a minor tech associated with the discovered tech (i.e. agriculture leads to the minor tech of farming tools, which increases farm building time, etc.)--> (researched alongside another major tech, so there will be two research bars)
4.) Cities, when making barracks, factories, etc. have the ability of making units and buildings at the same time
• Units take food, buildings take tools
o Fighting units take only 75% food, settlers 100%, buildings 0%
o Ships count as buildings- advantage for navies
o Granaries, markets etc. reduce this amount over time- lowest is 25% for warriors, 75% for Settlers/workers
5.) Trade on the coast shown with trade route diagrams
o Trade routes must be protected by ships (-trade ships- a new ship, automatically patrols trade lines)