Removing atom bomb and Nuke missile from Civ5

What do you think of AI nuking in Civ 5?

• It doesn't bother me at all

Votes: 36 76.6%
  • It is somewhat irritating

Votes: 2 4.3%
  • It's BAD, but I manage.

Votes: 2 4.3%
  • I HATE IT!!!

Votes: 7 14.9%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

zarnivop

Chieftain
I really dislike atomic weapons in Civ5. The lack of defense (contrary to the Real World) and the AI dealing nukes all over the place as if the environmental damage means nothing. It really forces me to rush my game, which I dislike.

So - what should I do to remove either the units or the techs? I gathered it is a matter of some XML editing, but failed to locate specific file and procedure docs.

<snip> GHANDI! :mad:

Moderator Action: Please do not try to evade the autocensor by replacing parts of a word with special chars. Swear word snipped.
Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889

I've been playing for going on three years and I've never been nuked. And I've only used nukes two or three times (which was after I had already won but continued the game).

If you don't want nukes, take the lead in the World Congress and ban nukes in that game.

Besides, I've usually won my games long before nukes are involved.

It's not that simple, DocBud.

First of all, you need to research Advanced Ballistics to even propose the thing in World Congress. Which means you could still potentially have 19 turns after researching it before the resolution even comes to a vote (and the tech itself is off the ideal tech path) where others could get the tech and build Nuclear Missiles.

Second, Advanced Ballistics requires Nuclear Fission...which unlocks Atomic Bombs. Meaning people can be building Atomic Bombs before you even hit Advanced Ballistics.

Third, it doesn't ban nukes, it simply stops them from being constructed. Any existing weapons remain.

Fourth, requires enough control of Congress to even get the resolution passed.