BNW: AI just isn't right yet

dragonalumni

Chieftain
/rant on

Ok I'm a newb and lurker but I've just finished several BNW starts and I'm just annoyed by the same old crap as always. These things do not destroy the game, rather they put a bad taste in my mouth that takes away the fun of playing the game.

Examples:

AI players build cities b-lined towards the player no matter how much room there is to expand in other directions.

Barbarian and AI Players avoid combat, but AI players who will be utterly ignored by the barbarians will be happy to loot defenseless or nearly defenses camps.

Barbarians avoid AI players property and troops walking past their cities to attack the player.

The reason for this is the AI sucks in so many other ways they need to do it.

Hopefully within the next twenty or so years they can make a decent and believable simulation that somewhat resembles realism.

BNW has a ton of new weird AI quirks (like no wars for the first 4000 years) different from other incarnations but the above seem to pretty standard in all of them. Making a game ever more complex does not necessarily make it better.

:rolleyes:

/rant off

Have a nice day guys :beer:

I know I shouldn't answer post like this but :mischief:

My question would be: Why do you buy the game. If you didn't like Civ 5 Vanilla, fine, bad purchase, but still you buy Civ 5 G&K, you find that, the worst game ever, and then you buy Civ 5 BNW and you still can't do anything but rant. Your rant is very much about the core game and the core game hasn't change.

Also most of the things you say isn't simply true, just pure :vomit:

There is rant thread where people can rant, so all rant are in one place.