Chopping Forests???

derekliese

Chieftain
Ok Ok, Im a noob... But so when my worker chops a forest and then the game says such and such city has 35 hammers from the forest, where does it go??? how do I use it??? In the city screen the production did not change from before the forest was cut down... confused.. man I have a lot to learn from this game

The nearest city will get the production bonus on whatever its building for that turn only... go into the city the turn the forest disappears (don't end the turn) and you should be able to see the hammer total that turn increased.

Ok Ok, Im a noob... But so when my worker chops a forest and then the game says such and such city has 35 hammers from the forest, where does it go??? how do I use it??? In the city screen the production did not change from before the forest was cut down... confused.. man I have a lot to learn from this game

First, If the production didn't change in the square with the forest, somethings wrong. Taking away a forest means that that tile produces one less production point per turn.

Second, as Joshua368 said, the production is put into the nearest city (not sure which one it goes to in a tie) and it is put towards what ever your city is building that turn. In a way, the production is increased by whatever amount for that one turn and then it drops back down to normal on the next turn. Overall, chopping a forest is a waste of hammers because it causes the tile to produce less, but for wonders, units, and important buildings that you want to complete as quick as possible, it is definatly worth it to chop forests. They should be saved for these cases. For example, many people will "chop-rush" the Oracle wonder so that they get a free tech, usually Code of Laws or Theology. It is important to get the wonder done as early as possible because you need to be the first to both the wonder and the tech to get the full benefit, a religion.