Why Inquisitors?

ChuckDWithFlava

Chieftain
I am new to Civ 5, and have 3 young girls at home, so I don't get much of a chance to play. I preface my question, because I feel that it may be a stupid one, but I can't seem to find the answer anywhere.

What are the negatives of having a rival religion in your cities? I have read a couple of items, but don't feel that I have them all. Certainly not enough to warrant spending my hard earned faith on an inquisitor, when I've got mosques etc. to buy. What is it about a rival religion that poses such a threat? why can I not spread my religion and who cares what the other faiths are doing? What is the difference between the civ 4 and civ 5 mechanic in this regard?

As far as I can tell:
Some bonuses are predicated on the number of followers that you have, having a rival religion in your midst reduced these bonuses. To my eyes this is a valid concern, but highly dependant on the bonuses that you choose for your pantheon and religion​

The natural spread of religions is based on the number of cities with (a majority?) of the religion in a 10 (or 13) hex radius. So if any of your cities is majority of a rival religion, a third city may take the rival, as opposed to your preferred religion. But if there is no harm in having them, why do I care?​

It depends on which point of view you take

If you ar ea founder, you lose not onyl your Founder Belief bonus (as you don't have followers/cities with the majority followers), but you also lose the Follower/Enhancer/Pantheon Belief you personally chose.

If you are only a Follower, there's no positive or negative, as you can pick and mix the religion you wanna choose (although, pressure will often mess that up), however, you can choose a religion to follow if you failed.