Will this Lenovo z510 run Civ 5?

skrazit

Chieftain
Hello, I'm new to civ 5 as well as this forum. I don't know a whole lot about computers so I would like to ask if this computer will run civ 5. From what I understand, it should, but I'd like to get the opinions of people more knowledgable. I'm not worried about graphics, so I don't mind if it will work smoothly on Low-Medium. For reference, here are the requirements as posted by the civ5 website:

Minimum Requirements

Operating System: Windows® XP SP3/ Windows® Vista SP2/ Windows® 7
Processor: Dual Core CPU
Memory: 2GB RAM
Hard Disk Space: 8 GB Free
DVD-ROM Drive: Required for disc-based installation
Video: 256 MB ATI HD2600 XT or better, 256 MB nVidia 7900 GS or better, or Core i3 or better integrated graphics
Sound: DirectX 9.0c-compatible sound card
DirectX®: DirectX® version 9.0c

Recommended Requirements

Operating System: Windows® Vista SP2/ Windows® 7
Processor: 1.8 GHz Quad Core CPU
Memory: 4 GB RAM
Hard Disk Space: 8 GB Free
DVD-ROM Drive: Required for disc-based installation
Video: 512 MB ATI 4800 series or better, 512 MB nVidia 9800 series or better
Sound: DirectX 9.0c-compatible sound card
DirectX®: DirectX® version 11

Here are the laptop specifications:
Lenovo z510 - 59400191

Processor:4th Generation Intel Core i5-4200M Processor (3.10 GHz 400 MHz 3 MB)
Operating System:Windows 8 64
Graphics:Intel® HD Graphics 4600
Memory:8.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
Display:15.6" HD LED Glossy 1366x768
Hard Drive:1TB 5400 RPM
Optical Drive:DVD Recordable (Dual Layer)

It will run it. You can also try any of the demos, there are three of them. Each one will give you a good example of how the game or the latest addition will run on your laptop.

I think it should run, with the regular caveats that large maps or too many civs would slow you down, especially in later stages of the game.