How many of you have Civ2, Civ3, Civ4 (and Warlords) but keep coming back to Civ 1?

stwils

Emperor
I was wondering. How many of you with computers that can handle all of the Civ games, keep coming back to Civ 1?

Why?

I do. I love the simplicity, the straight forwardness of Civ 1.

And I love the books that you can read for Civ 1 (Mainly "Civilization, or Rome on 640 K a Day" by Wilson and Emrick.)

And it beats all of them with that feeling of "just one more turn."

Graphics are not knock out. But so what...

stwils

I've played pretty much all CIVs and I still think CIV I is the greatest. I admit that I can get (more) caught up in a newer CIV with better graphics and more advanced gameplay, but then you only see more things you want added and things you didn't want at all (and are in the game).

CIV2 is by far the worst CIV ever. The graphics are heavily inferior and I didn't "feel good" with the GUI. It also didn't add a lot of good things to CIV I.
I only started playing CIV3 when conquests came out, because before that it was such a "bland" game. I really LOVED CIV3 though, but only again with Rhye's mod.
CIV4 is better than CIV3 in gameplay, but -don't be shocked- I don't like the graphics. The leaders are cartoon figures, which gave me this icky Disney feeling. :( I'm also waiting for the new expansion and then probably I will play it more again.

I used to play civ 1 and 2 years ago. I saw civ 4 and thought id give it a go. What a let down. I hate the cartoon leaders, where did the full video advisors go?

I would prefer civ to be more realistic. Leaders just keep repeating the same things over and over, deals and negotiations are really limited. The only thing that i like is the idea behind civ.