Problem with cities not using coastal resources.

Grandraem

Alchemist
I just discovered something about my mod that's currently puzzling me...

I added a small wonder that requires a resource (which only appears in coast and sea) to be within its city radius, and the cities I build near the resources have a harbour (which "Allows Water Trade") and the civilization have techs that "Enable Trade Over Sea Tiles" and "Enable Trade Over Ocean Tiles", but the cities not only don't show any strategic resources, including the required one, but also don't show that they have any other bonus or luxury resources that are in coast or sea and within the city radius. I made sure that a peasant was using the tile that the resource is on, but can't figure out why these resources aren't appearing for the city and therefore why I can't build the small wonder.

Please help with any useful suggestions if you can. :please:

:blush:

After all this time I'm still learning things like I'm brand new. :crazyeye:

Seriously, I never had a sea or coast resource as a requisite resource, but I always assumed that if the city had a harbour and sea trade, and a citizen worked the square, that the city would own the resource because it wasn't possible to build a road to it.

Well, you know what happens when you assume... :lol:

Back to the drawing board on my small wonder... Oh well.

Thanks for the reply, Laurana Kanan. :)

It´s a little bit more tricky. You can set each kind of water terrain (including coastal terrain) to hold roads by setting the commerce in the terrain window for roads to higher than zero.