Logistics of an assault, need some help

sigmakan

Warlord
Ok, I'm invading the Incas with about 16 gren and about 16 trebs, but I really have no idea where to start. Its always been a weakness of mine, how to move my troops around and where to attack first etc.

So any tips(general of specific)?

Thanks!

Here is the incan territory:

I'm no expert but, in general, I would say go first for those cities that either:

I. Have important strategic resurces(horses, iron, oil)
II. Or have good production

From what I can tell from the screenshot, a possible assault route could be:

Tiwanaku -> Capital

Tiwanaku is their largest city, plus it's coastal so it would serve as a good beachhead for your attack. After those two cities you have propably reduced their production quite a bit.

Of course, I can't see the resources, so it might even be good to attack some small city just to deny them some strategic resource.

I personally would hold off and whip/draft/rush pay for some defence troops (rifles/infantry?) before any invasion. Ensure you have some frigates in your landing group, and choose a target.

I would possibly land on the peninsula (hills) below Tiwanakus pop counter, and establish a "base". Soak up the attacks which will ensue, and bring in reinforcements. When you've seen them off for a few turns, strike.

Separate a smaller force to get Ica, and throw the bulk first at Tiwanaku, then at Cuzco. Assuming the fights go well, move the extra reinforcements (ie rifles and siege weapons) to Cuzco, with a view to moving onto the northern cities.

It's a bit general, but I can't emphasise enough:

Frigates: Good for harassment, can soften city defences while the land forces are still traversing countryside. Also needed for Galleon cover!

Defence Troops: Take a good group of rifles with City Garrison (or adapt their promotions to the Incan troops). They can hold off the initial repulse when you land, and will be invaluable in securing larger locations such as Cuzco.