The great leap - from monarchy to emperor - still not making it.

Tappara

Coffee? Yes please.
I'm really frustrated. This big step seems to be too big for me. I'm a good player at monach, but when I switch to emperor I get my butt kicked. I just can't figure out what's wrong. I've read all the strategy articles, but still no success. My best game at emperor was where I reached the late industrial age with Zulus (me as Scandinavia), but Spain was already at the beginning of the modern age :eek: .

So could please someone give me some advice. I'm not a complete newbie to civ as you may see, but this situation is really frustrating. And YES, I concentrate on expansion in the beginning and I DO NOT build any wonders.

Learn how to trade techs. aslo a good war can bring you back up in techs with the correct peace tready.

A couple of suggestions that you might not be doing.

1. At any level above monarch, you won't be able to out research the other AI, so you have to be an active trader.

2. You'll probably trail in tech in the middle ages, unless you have the Great Library (then stockpile cash for military or trades). So try to stay close to the tech leader via trading. Try to pick the techs the AI normally rates low (Printing Press, Medicine...) and use those techs to swing 2 & 3 fers (example trading Printing Press + $ for Banking, then PP + Banking for Physics, then Physics back to your original trading partner for $), you can pick up 2-3 techs and end up with more money in the bank.

3. I'm not sure which government you prefer, but for non-war games, you'll need to be in either Democracy or Republic to keep up a solid cash flow.

4. Add money & tech producing improvements (banks & universities) to your larger cities.

5. Improve all tiles being worked. Each road in more $$ and rails add more food/shields to each city.

6. Try to build a pair of productive cores. One around your capital and another around your forbidden palace. If playing Vanilla or PTW try RCP.