Civ IV Reference Charts

kroym

Chieftain
Hi everyone.

Since I started playing Civ IV, I don't know how many times I've had to stop what I'm doing and hunt for what I'm looking for.

"What's that unit best for? How do I best counter that Horse Archer coming at my city? What do I need to research to get this building/unit? etc, etc, etc."

I'm sure many of you have been doing the same thing. Sure, there's the Civilopedia, but frankly I'm finding it more and more un-helpful. Why can't they make it searchable? :mad: It's all based on icons, most of which I still don't immediately recognize! :cry:

So, I put together a bunch of charts that I've found useful. I originally posted these charts in a thread in the main Strategy & Tips section, but someone suggested I post it here, so here I am.

I've spent countless hours poring over the XML files and online information and have found quite a bit of information to fix or add.

I created the charts in Excel. They don't look pretty on screen, but they're set up to print out. It prints out to 21 pages. I also included a set of the charts in Word format for easier transfer to other formats (pdf, open office, etc. - I don't have the ability to do that, but I know there are those that do here.). The tech tree flow chart is what I use the most, but unfortunately, it won't transfer over to Word easily - sorry.

I hope you find it useful - I know I do. And if anyone finds any errors, please let me know!

kroYM

EDIT: Future versions will replace the older file.

Latest version: v2.08 (Includes Warlords v2.08 patch changes):

Download here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=2499

Attachments

• Civ IV Reference Charts v1.6.zip
    220.5 KB · Views: 14,593
  • Civ IV Reference Charts v1.6 (PDF).zip
    360.8 KB · Views: 25,871
I completely agree that Civ4's Civilopedia is terrible. That said, upon first glance, I think these charts will come in handy. Thanks for all that effort!