Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Modpacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Aug 10, 2006, 08:02 AM   #2101
Kael
Deity
 
Kael's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trajan12
My FFH2 mod takes forever to load. I almost fell asleep waiting. Is this a normal thing or could something be wrong?(It dows work)
During that period Civ4 has to copy everything in the Fall from Heaven direcotry into the cache directory. Its about 500 Meg of data and the time it takes will depend on how fast your hard drive is.
Kael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 08:55 AM   #2102
Jasconius
Chieftain
 
Jasconius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 12
Science

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kael
During that period Civ4 has to copy everything in the Fall from Heaven direcotry into the cache directory. Its about 500 Meg of data and the time it takes will depend on how fast your hard drive is.
BTW, I found that if I install FFH2 into your My Documents\My Games\Civ4\MODS\ directory instead of the default location, it loads a lot faster. I don't know if this is specific to my setup, but it loads up immediately for me. ^^
__________________
- The Island Mountain Wind Sky Fish, Jasconius

http://www.jascii.org/
Jasconius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 10:16 AM   #2103
Gamestation
Introducing Servo
 
Gamestation's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 551
Quote:
BTW, I found that if I install FFH2 into your My Documents\My Games\Civ4\MODS\ directory instead of the default location, it loads a lot faster. I don't know if this is specific to my setup, but it loads up immediately for me. ^^
Hey that worked! All I did was move the FFH2 folder from its original location to the My Documents\My Games\Civ4\MODS\ directory without making any other changes at all.

Anyone interested in creating a scenario involving a watery fortress? This game came up with a rather interesting terrain in which I ended up with an enormous natural fortress full of choke points and walls of seas which I could easily defend since I am the Lanun. I think the terrain could be a good basis to create a scenario where the AI has built up a virtually impenetrable empire threatening to take over the entire region (this isn't a global map, the world is flat). I don't know how to make a scenario though so I'm uploading essentially just a map in my saved game.

Last edited by Gamestation; Oct 04, 2006 at 06:30 PM.
Gamestation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 10:41 AM   #2104
Grillick
Prince
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash757
Thx. Though that bug still isn't mentioned there anyway...


If u had actually played FfH2, then u'd knew
Generally speaking, being vague and insulting is a bad way to get your problem bugs solved. Maybe telling us exactly what the 'bug' is with the Barb trait?

Perchance is it the fact that you were unaware that the Barbarians declare war on you if your have 50% more points than your nearest competitor?
Grillick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 11:47 AM   #2105
Fr8Train
Chieftain
 
Fr8Train's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 97
Maybe you are already aware of this bug - but in case you aren't:
In multiplayer, casting spells that make you select a unit like wither and charm come up on the wrong players screen and the game crashes the following turn.
Fr8Train is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 11:58 AM   #2106
Kael
Deity
 
Kael's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr8Train
Maybe you are already aware of this bug - but in case you aren't:
In multiplayer, casting spells that make you select a unit like wither and charm come up on the wrong players screen and the game crashes the following turn.
Yeah, we have some changes in to help with that in tomorrows version (0.15). Hopefully it is fixed.
Kael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 03:31 PM   #2107
Fader55
Chieftain
 
Fader55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kael
I don't know what the barbarian bug is and I have played. They seem to be working as expected. You are the only player that has reported any issues with the barbarian trait.

Not true, I've mentioned it not working a couple/three times & never gotten an answer, think mone might have something to do with the starting era (classical)

Fader
Fader55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 11:05 PM   #2108
Kael
Deity
 
Kael's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17,399
Version 0.15 is uploaded and linked in the first post. Enjoy!
Kael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 11:15 PM   #2109
Civkid1991
in shade of poison trees
 
Civkid1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 871
YES! im going to download it now! who needs sleep... i need to play now
Civkid1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 11:44 PM   #2110
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 16,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kael
Version 0.15 is uploaded and linked in the first post. Enjoy!
Dang you got here before i did, and posted it, i was going to kid you it was Friday, and POOF you got it here , you SNEAK!!

WOW over 200 MB, impressive!!
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE

Last edited by strategyonly; Aug 10, 2006 at 11:48 PM.
strategyonly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 12:22 AM   #2111
carnivore
Digital Monkey
 
carnivore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
to play

can you tell me which scenarios are most compatible with the new ffh2 version ?
carnivore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 01:14 AM   #2112
jselsmark
FFH2 Fanatic
 
jselsmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Farum, Denmark
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly
Dang you got here before i did, and posted it, i was going to kid you it was Friday, and POOF you got it here , you SNEAK!!

WOW over 200 MB, impressive!!
hehe... I had the same Idea at 00:00 central european time... but then I thought I'd just sleep on it and wake up with a smile upon my face when I opened this homepage. (or just sit around refreshing the page every 5 minutes as I did with 0.14 in case it wasn't up when I woke up).

Note to self: cancel alll arrangements this weekend and call in sick...
jselsmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 02:39 AM   #2113
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 16,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnivore
can you tell me which scenarios are most compatible with the new ffh2 version ?

Well i am going to add three NEW scenarios, that are quite different in looks, this morning. Check out my signature for more.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 02:52 AM   #2114
Lork
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Question

Hi, I got the .xml problem for .15
Worked fine with .14 and FfH1
Tried the method posted on FAQ already, any help is appreciated.
Looking at those "TXT_KEY_TECH_XXXXXX" is annoying.

Thanks!!

p.s. Thanks Jasconius! It loads so fast using your method!
Lork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 05:37 AM   #2115
Yorgos
imagine...
 
Yorgos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasconius
BTW, I found that if I install FFH2 into your My Documents\My Games\Civ4\MODS\ directory instead of the default location, it loads a lot faster.
In this sticky post it's mentioned there's a bug when playing mods installed in My Documents/My Games. Did anyone encounter any problems using this way? The post is old, and it's likely the bug was fixed in a patch.
Yorgos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 06:39 AM   #2116
Jasconius
Chieftain
 
Jasconius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorgos
In this sticky post it's mentioned there's a bug when playing mods installed in My Documents/My Games. Did anyone encounter any problems using this way? The post is old, and it's likely the bug was fixed in a patch.
I've been playing with all of my mods in the My Documents\My Games folder since I started playing FFH months ago and I've never had any problems like that.
__________________
- The Island Mountain Wind Sky Fish, Jasconius

http://www.jascii.org/
Jasconius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 06:51 AM   #2117
Gamestation
Introducing Servo
 
Gamestation's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 551
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorgos
In this sticky post it's mentioned there's a bug when playing mods installed in My Documents/My Games. Did anyone encounter any problems using this way? The post is old, and it's likely the bug was fixed in a patch.
I've been playing with all of my mods in the My Documents\My Games folder since I started playing FFH months ago and I've never had any problems like that.
Yeah I really don't think there is a problem with doing this anymore. I think it was fixed in a patch. I think this has something to do with the original problem:

Quote:
The full mod path is no longer stored in the save when the mod is installed under the user folder.
I found that in the patch readme. Maybe that fixed the problem that existed before?
Gamestation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 07:03 AM   #2118
ruffriders23
Prince
 
ruffriders23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 399
Ok, I have asked this in the Pirate Island mod, but nobody answered. Has anyone put any thought into making it so that you can play as the pirates?
ruffriders23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 10:50 AM   #2119
Yorgos
imagine...
 
Yorgos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 413
Undead selection sounds

Here's a couple of another selection/order soundsets. They cover undead units and they come in two packs, one for the "mindless" ones, such as skeletons or drowns, and another for the "noble" ones, like vampires or liches (these are my favourite, I love them!) As far as I know, no undead unit has worker or air mission actions, so I included only selection sounds, but they can always be modified manually.

http://www.civfanatics.net/uploads12...dSoundsets.zip

Since I'm going for vacations tomorrow (at last!) the next soundsets will come no earlier than a week or ten days from now. But we'll probably get some feedback on the orc sounds included in 0.15 until then, which may be helpful for any future soundsets.
Yorgos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 11:15 AM   #2120
HahnHolio
Warlord
 
HahnHolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 137
well, i´m a bit confused ...
in v15 there are only 2 sources of copper on my map(which is about 70% explored) and all are very far away from my starting position. same goes for iron ...
is that intentional, or just defined thought the map type?
in all my v14 games a had copper for sure within my territory as soon as it was revealed and now, nothing ...

greetz

HahnHolio
HahnHolio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
download, ffh2

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Modpacks > [MOD] Fall from Heaven II

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fall from Heaven II for newbs! Tiarilir Civ4 - Fall from Heaven 19 Jan 31, 2011 04:38 PM
fall further for Fall from Heaven II 0.23c ?? blackCat Fall Further 3 Apr 20, 2010 07:23 PM
Mod Test IV: Fall From Heaven II digitCruncher Civ4 - Fall from Heaven 88 Aug 28, 2008 08:46 PM
Fall from Heaven II seZereth Article Comments 1 Jul 31, 2008 01:50 PM
Fall From Heaven II Trailer Miloe Civ4 - Fall from Heaven 23 May 18, 2008 04:52 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR