Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - General Discussions

Notices

Civ4 - General Discussions Forum for general Civilization IV discussions including Warlords and Beyond the Sword (BTS) expansions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Nov 19, 2006, 06:37 PM   #1
automator
King
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northwest USA
Posts: 731
Relocating your Capitol?

Does anyone build a new palace by choice?

I've had a few games where it would seem to make sense to take the dozen or so turns to build a new palace to relocate my capitol. Example: first city is on the coast and you expand inland so that your capitol is on the edge of your empire. To re-center your capitol, you build a new palace. Or say you're planning on switching to beaurocracy, but your current capitol isn't much of a commerce or production powerhouse, but maybe your second or third city is ...

Do you switch?

Besides the lack of culture (since cultural output of buildings increases with time), are there any negatives?
automator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2006, 06:40 PM   #2
ggganz
a.k.a. The Scyphozoa
 
ggganz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sector 5
Posts: 3,485
Yes, confusion and historical inaccuracy. But if you mean stricly gameplay, no, I can't think of anything.
ggganz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2006, 09:11 PM   #3
Willowmound
Wordbug
 
Willowmound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Afloat
Posts: 2,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggganz
historical inaccuracy.
No we wouldn't what that in a game of Civ4!

I never move my capital, even when I probably should. I don't know why. Probably sentimental reasons. I'll make an effort to move it the next time it makes sense. I need to improve my game anyway.
__________________
Still playing Civ IV? Try ActualQuotes -- leaders speak their own actual words
Willowmound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2006, 10:50 PM   #4
abuaftab
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 141
I move it to reduce distance from capital costs. Was almost a requirement in one game I played.
abuaftab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2006, 11:21 PM   #5
bassist2119
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 218
As mentioned in a non-related post, games aiming at cultural victories have high motivation to relocate their capital. Once.
Cultural victories often (always?) end up with two cities hitting legendary status near each other with a third that is many turns behind. Once the capital nears hitting the mark, say 45K or so, rebuild the palace in the lacking city. Since the culture slider is at 100% at this time, the default 8 commerce becomes a flatrate 8 culture, plus the two culture that the palace always gets for a net of 10 culture, more than tripling any other non-wonder, non percentage building. As the city cultural multiplier often exceeds 400%, this means relocating your capital can net 50+ culture per turn. A not-too-shabby trick to catch up to the pack...
bassist2119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 06:29 AM   #6
CivDude86
King
 
CivDude86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 862
I don't think they move your 3000 year old palace but instead build a new one so it would only be worth 1.
CivDude86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 12:50 PM   #7
bassist2119
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by CivDude86
I don't think they move your 3000 year old palace but instead build a new one so it would only be worth 1.
Not referring to culture doubling from age. The capital always gets 2. It also gets 8 , but as culture slider is at 100% at this point, the 8 is converted to 8. 2+8=10. Apply multipliers.
bassist2119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 01:16 PM   #8
Ray Patterson
the dude is not in
 
Ray Patterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Not in 'Nam of course
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggganz
historical inaccuracy
Spain moved it's capital from Toledo to Rome. The Roman Empire had (within Italy) Rome, Milan and then Ravenna. Later Italy had Turin, Florence and Rome as it's capital. Germany has had Bonn as post-reunion capital for some time and then Berlin. If I may believe wikipedia China has had 16 different capitals. I recall something about St. Petersburg being Russia's capital for some time.

So it's not the case that moving a capital is in itself contrary to historical patterns. I grant that the capital you choose for your empire may very well be not be the 'real' one, but I've seen to many Londons in the jungle to be bothered about that.
__________________
So convenient a thing it is to be a reasonable creature, since it
enables one to find or make a reason for everything one has a mind
to do.


Benjamin Franklin
Ray Patterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 02:33 PM   #9
Nestorius
Prince
 
Nestorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 330
The Russians stupidly moved their capital from Moscow to St. Petersburg in the 18th century. This increased maintenence costs in Siberia dramatically. Also, the Americans are very inefficient in having their capital on the east coast. If I could, I'd move it somewhere to the midwest, depending on where their Forbidden City is (Denver?).
Nestorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 03:21 PM   #10
Quagga
Former Dictator
 
Quagga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Li'l Rhody
Posts: 663
I believe one could reasonably say that the capital of the United States moved from New York, to Philadelphia to Washington DC. I'm sure I'm right about the last one, anyway.
Quagga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 04:07 PM   #11
LlamaCat
Emperor
 
LlamaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,212
The capital of the U.S. was at various times in York, PA, Philadelphia, New York, and then we built a city from scratch called Washington just to be the capital. Reasons for all these moves included: fear of British invasion, culture, politics, Northern vs. Southern compromise, and commerce.

Also don't forget that Japan moved it's capital from Kyoto to Toyko.. it's a more common historical event than you may realize so I don't think it's at all strange to have this aspect in the game - it's actually an accurate reflection of what happens in the world and your reasons for moving the capital could be similar.

Oh yes and also: it's capital, not capitOl. Pet peeve....

Last edited by LlamaCat; Nov 20, 2006 at 04:11 PM.
LlamaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 08:27 AM   #12
sylvanllewelyn
Perma-newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,204
In today's economic pattern, the problem is not so much raw economic wealth but the spread of wealth, which if uneven would lead to decrease in economic growth. It's a very wise choice NOT to put the capitol into New York. In fact, it's wise to put it in a less developed area, to spread the economic focus a little.
sylvanllewelyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 10:07 AM   #13
mike p
King
 
mike p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 704
Rarely you might want to move your capitol to leverage the Bureaucracy bonus. For example, if your initial site is food rich, but relatively commerce and production poor, you might be better off running your original capitol as a Great Person farm and moving the new capitol to your city with the highest base commerce (excluding the capitol bonus).
mike p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 05:32 PM   #14
babypacman
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvanllewelyn
In today's economic pattern, the problem is not so much raw economic wealth but the spread of wealth, which if uneven would lead to decrease in economic growth. It's a very wise choice NOT to put the capitol into New York. In fact, it's wise to put it in a less developed area, to spread the economic focus a little.
This hasn't exactly worked out in places where it was tried.
babypacman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 09:05 AM   #15
MilesGregarius
Half-baked Renegade
 
MilesGregarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: S. of the Yalu, w. of the Shannon
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggganz
historical inaccuracy
Just in game civs:

America - New York to Philly to DC
China - too many to count
Egypt - Thebes to Alexandria to Cairo
Germany - Berlin to Bonn back to Berlin
India - too many to mention
Japan - Kyoto to Tokyo
Korea - Kyeongju to Kaesong to Seoul
Ottomans - Istanbul to Ankara (if you consider the Turks as an extension of the Ottomans)
Persians - Susa to Pesepolis to Tehran (if you consider Iran an extension of Persia)
Rome - Rome to Ravenna and Constantinople
Russia - Moscow to St. Petersburg to Moscow
Spain - Toledo to Madrid

Not to mention countries like Thailand (Sukothai to Ayuddaya to Bangkok), Laos (Luang Prabang to Vientiane), Brazil (Rio de Janeiro to Brasilia), Poland (Krakow to Warsaw), and just last year, Burma (Rangoon to Pyinmana).

OK, enough historical nitpicking.

In game terms, I moved my capital once when I had a particularly lopsided empire (coastal capital up on the northern tundra, expanded south almost to the opposite pole). I could also see moving it to maximize bureaucracy bonus or to squeak out some extra culture in a critical city.
MilesGregarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2006, 06:19 PM   #16
abuaftab
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 141
Australia - Melbourne to Canberra.

I was playing as the English on the Huge Earth Map and I decided to move the capital to the mainland, around where Amsterdam would be, because it was in the middle of the empire. Saved a lot of money doing that.
abuaftab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - General Discussions > Relocating your Capitol?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR