Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 12, 2006, 10:22 PM   #1
NKVD
Cossack
 
NKVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stalingrad, Québec
Posts: 1,686
Yuck is hoover dam or dam cancels coal plant?

if you have built a coal plant in a city and you build hoover dam or just a dam (or even a nuclear plant which i never do anymore) does it cancels it ? cancel the +2 green faces...
NKVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2006, 10:26 PM   #2
Tatran
Deity
 
Tatran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,454
No, the 2 do not disappear.
Guess, a nuclear plant can still cause a meltdown.
(After 1 nuclear meltdown in my capital once , I've never built
any of those plants again.)

Last edited by Tatran; Dec 12, 2006 at 10:29 PM.
Tatran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2006, 10:45 PM   #3
NKVD
Cossack
 
NKVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stalingrad, Québec
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatran View Post
No, the 2 do not disappear.
Guess, a nuclear plant can still cause a meltdown.
(After 1 nuclear meltdown in my capital once , I've never built
any of those plants again.)
same here...I think i have a rate of 25% of nuclear lant having a meltdown...
NKVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2006, 11:07 PM   #4
namliaM
Deity
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam/Netherlands
Posts: 3,603
What does a meltdown do?

I think I read someplace that the 2 :sick: are gone once you build a damn or something to replace the Coal plant.

It should be easy to check in a WB test.
__________________
milking...for all I know, that means get as many cows as possible within my boarders... <leprechaun71588>
Bulb order techtree | The Oob's Pittboss rules
namliaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2006, 11:37 PM   #5
NKVD
Cossack
 
NKVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stalingrad, Québec
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by namliaM View Post
What does a meltdown do?

I think I read someplace that the 2 :sick: are gone once you build a damn or something to replace the Coal plant.

It should be easy to check in a WB test.
well it 1:33 am so i'm going to bed...

as for the meltdown it reduces your population by something like the half...destroy half the improvements and creates a radioactive cloud you need to clean. The worst thing is that sometimes you beelined for fission and when the meltdown occurs you understand you have to research Biology and then Ecology which will take 40 turns before you even start cleaning the place. so during 40 turns the population will decrease even more...then you're in the hole...
NKVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 07:05 AM   #6
GoodSarmatian
Colonist
 
GoodSarmatian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany, The Horned City
Posts: 5,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatran View Post
No, the 2 do not disappear.
Guess, a nuclear plant can still cause a meltdown.
(After 1 nuclear meltdown in my capital once , I've never built
any of those plants again.)
You are wrong.
If you have a Hydro Plant or the Three Gorges Dam the disappears.
I am just wondering if this is also true for the shale plant...
__________________
How much joy does this new planet hold, when all I can think of is everything I've left behind ?
GoodSarmatian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 08:21 AM   #7
Crighton
Emperor
 
Crighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,136
the meltdown thing is bogus and bears no relation real world probablities, anyway I tend to have a ridiculously tough time getting that stupid Three Gorges Dam built, takes forever and come usually towards the end of my game when it means less
Crighton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 08:30 AM   #8
Tatran
Deity
 
Tatran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodSarmatian View Post
You are wrong.
I checked this in one of my last games and those 2
were there in the city screen health/happy summary.
(But, I'll check this again in my current game. )

Also, a nuclear meltdown will also destroy National wonders.
I lost Wall Street this way, so I remember it very well.
Tatran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 08:53 AM   #9
KMadCandy
giggling permanoob
 
KMadCandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Peepsville
Posts: 3,991
i've never seen a nuclear meltdown happen, altho i don't generally build nuke plants either.

my husband saw it exactly once. he was on a huge map and during late game was at war with gandhi. he took over one of the indian cities. while it was in revolt, it had a nuclear meltdown (and my husband just about blew a fuse).

it made him SOOOOOOOOOOO mad since there wasn't a darn thing he could do about it gandhi chose to build the nuke plant, not hubby, and hubby couldn't do anything to prevent it from melting down, since in this game you can't destroy buildings. he was ranting "what am i supposed to do? save up great artists all game to bring one along to every late-game city capture just in case it has a nuke plant? raze every single city, even the ones with multiple wonders?" he never did go back to finish that game.

we thought at that time that civ4 was like civ3, in that meltdowns could only happen if cities are in revolt/rebellion. but of course in civ4 your cities don't rebel any more so that wouldn't make any sense, so it has to be a random chance even with no revolt. perhaps the chance is higher if is the city is in revolt, don't know if that was programming or just happenstance that they coincided. i guess i've just been very lucky with the few plants i have built.

i generally end up building recycling centers in my big cities when the game goes that long, even if i have 3 gorges dam (i still call it hoover tho, and isn't the picture still hoover?), since they have enough unhealthiness to irritate me anyway. that would make the ill effects of the coal plant go away, if your game does go that far.
KMadCandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 09:57 AM   #10
NKVD
Cossack
 
NKVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stalingrad, Québec
Posts: 1,686
with Civ 3 and 4 I used to not build one single coal plant and wait for the hoover dam...but I just understood i was losing 60 years of electricity and production and it was very late in the game and I had to construct the space ship at that time not the hoover dam. so I started building nuclear plants but after a few meltdowns I now build coal plants everywhere. So in my last game I didnt know if it was giving me something to build the Dam...
NKVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 11:38 AM   #11
Crighton
Emperor
 
Crighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,136
you may as well just suck up the miasma and build the coal plants, if you get Three Gorges/Hoover then at least you got the production boos which you otherwise would have missed (and getting that dam is no longer that easy imo). Nukes are ok except for the frequent meltdowns. Besides other than lower life expectancy what is -2 sick really going to do to your game?
Crighton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 11:52 AM   #12
NKVD
Cossack
 
NKVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stalingrad, Québec
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crighton View Post
you may as well just suck up the miasma and build the coal plants, if you get Three Gorges/Hoover then at least you got the production boos which you otherwise would have missed (and getting that dam is no longer that easy imo). Nukes are ok except for the frequent meltdowns. Besides other than lower life expectancy what is -2 sick really going to do to your game?
yeah I dont even know what the green faces do in a city...I'm guessing they lower the number of worked tiles ? but then again if I have electricity i'll still have more productivity.
NKVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 12:59 PM   #13
Diamond
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 46
You lose 1 food for each green face over the health limit.
Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 12:59 PM   #14
GoodSarmatian
Colonist
 
GoodSarmatian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany, The Horned City
Posts: 5,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatran View Post
I checked this in one of my last games and those 2
were there in the city screen health/happy summary.
(But, I'll check this again in my current game. )

Also, a nuclear meltdown will also destroy National wonders.
I lost Wall Street this way, so I remember it very well.
If you place the cursor over the health symbol it will show +x from population, buildings and +2 from power.
The latter disappears after you have a cleaner power plant. I am certain it was this way the last few times I checked, but this was before the 2.08 patch. Might be a new bug.
__________________
How much joy does this new planet hold, when all I can think of is everything I've left behind ?
GoodSarmatian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 01:23 PM   #15
kristopherb
Protective/Charismatic
 
kristopherb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: British Empire Soul:Tesco
Posts: 2,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by NKVD View Post
well it 1:33 am so i'm going to bed...

..
yes go to bed

i always gun for the hoover dam
__________________
But disaster isn't coming, it's already arrived
I am so lucky,I think that I survived

Manic Street Preachers
kristopherb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 03:19 PM   #16
Crighton
Emperor
 
Crighton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,136
Ok the minus the food thing per sick face does kind of make sense now, thanks
Crighton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 03:28 PM   #17
Armorydave
Prince
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodSarmatian View Post
If you place the cursor over the health symbol it will show +x from population, buildings and +2 from power.
The latter disappears after you have a cleaner power plant. I am certain it was this way the last few times I checked, but this was before the 2.08 patch. Might be a new bug.
I have checked several times in the past and this has always been the case.
Armorydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 12:49 AM   #18
Tristan daCunha
Pacifist Aggressive
 
Tristan daCunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crighton View Post
I tend to have a ridiculously tough time getting that stupid Three Gorges Dam built, takes forever
Yes, I try save two or three Great Engineers in storage until I have learned Plastics and then I burn them to rush its completion.
Tristan daCunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 09:35 AM   #19
NKVD
Cossack
 
NKVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stalingrad, Québec
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tristan daCunha View Post
Yes, I try save two or three Great Engineers in storage until I have learned Plastics and then I burn them to rush its completion.
this was exactly my strategy for civ 3 and c4 vanilla...3 games ago I went to the coal plant...I prefer using them for ironworks. The game is already decided usually at the time you have plastics.


and I guess loosing 2 foods after biology isnt bad at all for my productivity
NKVD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2006, 05:19 PM   #20
Tatran
Deity
 
Tatran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodSarmatian View Post
The latter disappears after you have a cleaner power plant. I am certain it was this way the last few times I checked, but this was before the 2.08 patch. Might be a new bug.
You're absolutely right. I checked it, a Hydro and Nuclear plant versus
the Coal plant and the Three Gorges Dam verus the Coal plant in all
situations the 2 have disappeared. So, I was wrong.
(Maybe, I saw it in the vanilla SGs I've played.)

Last edited by Tatran; Dec 15, 2006 at 05:56 PM.
Tatran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - General Discussions > is hoover dam or dam cancels coal plant?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hoover Dam to Three Gorges Dam brinko Civ - Ideas & Suggestions 10 Jan 27, 2005 10:36 AM
Hoover Dam & Coal Plants BlueBomberDude Civ3 - General Discussions 15 Nov 23, 2003 12:15 AM
Hoover dam - Hydro plant smazacek Civ3 - Strategy & Tips 10 Aug 27, 2003 04:28 PM
Grand Changes in your Civ - the Hoover Dam and Coal Plants Angmar Civ3 - Strategy & Tips 13 Jan 10, 2002 12:24 PM
Does Hoover Dam give you a hydro plant at cities w/o access to water? mgdpublic Civ3 - General Discussions 1 Nov 16, 2001 11:04 AM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR