Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Modpacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 21, 2010, 06:32 PM   #1
Sephi
Deity
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,907
Science Master of Mana

I do not visit this website anymore, so I won't update this post. If you want to contact me, try the website in my sig. thanks.
__________________

Master of Mana

Turn based Strategy in a fantasy world setting

Last edited by Sephi; Nov 10, 2011 at 03:37 PM.
Sephi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 06:33 PM   #2
Sephi
Deity
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,907
post reserved - just in case
__________________

Master of Mana

Turn based Strategy in a fantasy world setting
Sephi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 07:14 PM   #3
keldath
LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR
 
keldath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: israel
Posts: 5,582
wow sephi!

very impressive!!

how long have you worked on this?
__________________
keldath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 12:46 AM   #4
hgthechinese
Warlord
 
hgthechinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 207
Very nice...love it.

A few balance (IMO) issues I have seen so far:

rangers are too deadly. 3 of my neighbors were wiped out by one civ in about 20 turns , turned out there were more than a dozen rangers running around....w/combat 5 each.... Since it is recon, maybe -50% city attack penalty?

some summons like skeleton seem too expensive for their stats. (Compared with, say, Chaos maunder)

Cities overall seem fairly easy to capture. More defense from buildings? More city-defending special effects/promotions?

Drill promotion line seems way underpowered. All the cool promotions are behind the combat line, and a 20% strength boost is not comparable to a first strike chance or two. Combat promotion line tends to be favored even back in vanilla when it gave only 10% strength bonus, and are generally better in FF, where drill is much more powerful than it is here. Suggestion: boost the drill promotions (maybe make drill I what drill II does right now and so forth, and make drill IV, say, 2 first strikes.), as well as weaken the combat line. (15% strength is great enough, given it has additional perks, and it leads to all the best promotions.)

Lastly, pleeeeease take the time and do the boring part of modding--the pedia. It is a pain to find out exactly what some of the features do, 1 line description will do the trick!! (E.G. for witchhut: provides additional spell research; cannot build improvements adjacent to it.)

Now, back to the game!
__________________
Aye, + =. Cheers!
hgthechinese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 01:42 AM   #5
Emptiness
[]
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by keldath View Post
wow sephi!

very impressive!!
What he said.

Downloading now to try this out!
Emptiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 05:17 AM   #6
Sephi
Deity
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by keldath View Post
wow sephi!

very impressive!!

how long have you worked on this?
with learning how to mod about 2 years. But it's not just me, a whole team involved. And many playtesters whose feedback was highly valuable. And all the gems created by the modding community...
__________________

Master of Mana

Turn based Strategy in a fantasy world setting
Sephi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 05:25 AM   #7
keldath
LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR
 
keldath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: israel
Posts: 5,582
i see,

im very impressed with all the features you describe here, not every day you get to see a mod that changes so much. i know you did some good stuff along the years so its gotta be good.

thank you for all the time you spent on this and your team.
__________________
keldath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 09:33 AM   #8
[to_xp]Gekko
WM junkie
 
[to_xp]Gekko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
Posts: 7,453
hgthechinese does have a good point about drill being kinda lame compared to combat in FFH, I agree.
__________________
" Sheelba does what Charadon't " - Senethro
[to_xp]Gekko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 12:08 PM   #9
dfnehring
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
CTD when starting new game

I manage to start the game and set up the options for a new game. While the game is set up and the map is loading, I get a crash to desktop with a runtime error in civ4beyondsword.exe. Installing as an administrator, etc. has not helped. Any suggestions on how to fix this?
dfnehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 12:28 PM   #10
Sephi
Deity
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,907
Did you play a different mod before? I know that the game doesn't delete all options when switching mods, so maybe try to do a PLAY NOW game first.

For example if you play a mod that adds a new difficulty and then switch back to vanilla BTS it can crash because the last used difficulty is not defined.
__________________

Master of Mana

Turn based Strategy in a fantasy world setting
Sephi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 02:56 PM   #11
tchristensen
Emperor
 
tchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Posts: 1,220
Great looking mod -- I love all the models you have in here. Many of them look like you got them from FFH but there are some new ones in here as well.

I am hoping to incorporate many of the models in version 3 of ExtremeMod. Of course I will give due credit to such a wonderful mod.

Cheers
__________________
+++


Amish Johnson and the Pegasus Chamber: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LZ840KW
tchristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 02:58 PM   #12
Ajidica
Nerevarine
 
Ajidica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bellinzona
Posts: 15,052
Ooooh. Shiny. Definately downloading.
__________________
One thing we are good at in English is having words for ways to die.-Neil deGrasse Tyson, on 'spaghettification'
Looking at the poster again, I also like the way that the baby is cocking its head and looking away from the doctor, as if to show that this not merely a skeletal Moai-baby, it's a particularly aloof and disinterested skeletal Moai-baby.-Traitorfish
Cynicism is boringly fashionable.-Ensign Flandry, Poul Anderson
Ajidica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 05:21 PM   #13
Blue Senshi
Warlord
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 124
I'm getting a runtime error when trying to load the map for a new custom game. It happens during initializing graphics. I'm using the 1.01 patch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephi View Post
Did you play a different mod before? I know that the game doesn't delete all options when switching mods, so maybe try to do a PLAY NOW game first.

For example if you play a mod that adds a new difficulty and then switch back to vanilla BTS it can crash because the last used difficulty is not defined.
That didn't help. Same result at the same point.

Last edited by Blue Senshi; Dec 22, 2010 at 05:37 PM.
Blue Senshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2010, 01:57 AM   #14
dreadknought
timelord
 
dreadknought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: DOCTOR WHO 2005
Posts: 1,111
Great looking mod

Downloaded this tonite for my son who loves fantasy mods and it looks stunning and very well done When I tried to do the patch my anti-virus didnt like it for some reason? so not sure on the problem with that but will try it again later.
__________________
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=462887

Link to Realism Invictus MINI MOD Pages, 3 small files with value edits that help turn speed and add a bit of different flavor for fun.

Huge thx to the civ modders !!! You keep the game alive

Long Time Civer***I recommend***

CIV4 (realism invictus) , MUST PLAY MOD...great balance,added content
dreadknought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2010, 08:00 AM   #15
dfnehring
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
CTD problem

I play normal FFH2; no other mods currently; neither BTS. Play Now and Custom Game both produce the same kind of CTD. Any suggestions?
dfnehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2010, 11:00 AM   #16
Nor'easter
Emperor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadknought View Post
Downloaded this tonite for my son who loves fantasy mods and it looks stunning and very well done When I tried to do the patch my anti-virus didnt like it for some reason? so not sure on the problem with that but will try it again later.
I'm using Norton Internet Security and had the same problem with the patch at first. It quarantined it, I think in part because the patch had so few downloads or users that NIS couldn't verify its safety.

I went into the "Quarantine" section of the anti-virus program, selected the patch and removed it from the quarantine.

I don't know what anti-virus program you're using, but you might be able to do something similar.
Nor'easter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2010, 11:20 AM   #17
Sephi
Deity
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfnehring View Post
I play normal FFH2; no other mods currently; neither BTS. Play Now and Custom Game both produce the same kind of CTD. Any suggestions?
just to be sure. You have Beyond the Sword installed and the Patch 3.19? (auto-patcher sometimes screws this up)
__________________

Master of Mana

Turn based Strategy in a fantasy world setting
Sephi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2010, 03:51 PM   #18
dfnehring
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
CTD problem

Yes, CIV4 + BTS + patch 3.17 (manually installed) + patch 3.19 (manually installed). I have FFH2 running stable, as well as the Start Trek mod. Only Master of Mana crashes.
dfnehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2010, 04:16 PM   #19
tchristensen
Emperor
 
tchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfnehring View Post
Yes, CIV4 + BTS + patch 3.17 (manually installed) + patch 3.19 (manually installed). I have FFH2 running stable, as well as the Start Trek mod. Only Master of Mana crashes.
Have you tried my mod -- it is a fairly good test to see to see if you can run a laden down graphic and XML modified Mod. Just a thought.
__________________
+++


Amish Johnson and the Pegasus Chamber: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LZ840KW
tchristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2010, 04:31 PM   #20
dreadknought
timelord
 
dreadknought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: DOCTOR WHO 2005
Posts: 1,111
Thx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nor'easter View Post
I'm using Norton Internet Security and had the same problem with the patch at first. It quarantined it, I think in part because the patch had so few downloads or users that NIS couldn't verify its safety.

I went into the "Quarantine" section of the anti-virus program, selected the patch and removed it from the quarantine.

I don't know what anti-virus program you're using, but you might be able to do something similar.
Yep, thats exactly what is going on, I will try to check on that later, thx
__________________
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=462887

Link to Realism Invictus MINI MOD Pages, 3 small files with value edits that help turn speed and add a bit of different flavor for fun.

Huge thx to the civ modders !!! You keep the game alive

Long Time Civer***I recommend***

CIV4 (realism invictus) , MUST PLAY MOD...great balance,added content
dreadknought is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Modpacks > [BTS] Master of Mana

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR