Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Mod Components

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Aug 09, 2008, 11:06 PM   #181
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,992
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionVeteran View Post
The button that executes the inquisition works perfectly. Remember, to conduct an inquisition, the city must have your state religion established first. The inquisition button will not light up without it.

V/R,

Orion Veteran
Again, i knew that, but i have NO button (at all) thats why i am asking for help, to see whats is wrong that i have done!! THX..
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 17 Aug, 3:30p.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 07:21 AM   #182
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionVeteran View Post
Done! The Mod is called Orion's Inquisition Mod. This version includes a limitation: If you change to Free Religion or Pacifism, then you can't build an inquisitor. Thanks to Hephaistion for the code. Get the mod here:
http://forums.civfanatics.com/downlo...=file&id=10325
Nice! I'm going to cut and paste the changed code into my setup! thanks again!
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 07:22 AM   #183
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly View Post
Again, i knew that, but i have NO button (at all) thats why i am asking for help, to see whats is wrong that i have done!! THX..
turn on logging. inspect logs. fix problem.
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2008, 11:14 PM   #184
revolution18
Chieftain
 
revolution18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: California
Posts: 9
how can I edit the unit to remove ALL religions in the city? I want to make it in to a Secret Police unit.
revolution18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2008, 03:09 AM   #185
OrionVeteran
Deity
 
OrionVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 2,155
Re: Secret Police

Quote:
Originally Posted by revolution18 View Post
how can I edit the unit to remove ALL religions in the city? I want to make it in to a Secret Police unit.
1. Edit the CvEventManager.py file.

2. Look for def doInquisitorPersecution

3. Find the 5 lines under comment "Loop through all religions, remove them from the city"

4. Remove line that skips the state religion:

if iReligionLoop != pPlayer.getStateReligion( ):

5. Fix the indentations for the remaining lines.

6. Remove the 3 lines under the following comment:

Add player's state religion

That should do it.

Orion Veteran

Last edited by OrionVeteran; Aug 13, 2008 at 03:33 AM. Reason: Forgot step 6
OrionVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 03:32 AM   #186
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,992
Images: 5
I still need someone to go over my python files and see why the inquisitor does not work correctly.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 17 Aug, 3:30p.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 06:58 AM   #187
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly View Post
I still need someone to go over my python files and see why the inquisitor does not work correctly.
first you need to turn on logging. once you do that, the errors become apparent.
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 09:03 AM   #188
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,992
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by modifieda4 View Post
first you need to turn on logging. once you do that, the errors become apparent.
Had logging on, no good.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 17 Aug, 3:30p.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE

Last edited by strategyonly; Aug 15, 2008 at 10:10 AM.
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 09:12 AM   #189
keldath
LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR
 
keldath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: israel
Posts: 5,788
hey guys,
can someone help me to merge inqusition limited rel to bug mod? i can seem to succeed...
__________________
keldath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 09:19 AM   #190
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by keldath View Post
hey guys,
can someone help me to merge inqusition limited rel to bug mod? i can seem to succeed...
i successfully merged this into the expanded mod using winmerge, even still i had a ton of indentation errors which i hunted down one by one with logging on. if it helps you can use my files as a reference:
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=286739

there were some references to cy.game that i had to change in some of the python files. (im going from memory, at work now so i cant check the actual files)
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 11:15 AM   #191
keldath
LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR
 
keldath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: israel
Posts: 5,788
thanks alot modifieda,

ill check it out,
what is the file game.cy?

__________________
keldath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2008, 11:20 AM   #192
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by keldath View Post
thanks alot modifieda,

ill check it out,
what is the file game.cy?

its not a file, its a object in one of the python files. the object was named differently in the expanded mod, so i had to convert the expanded mod to the naming that the inquisition used. im not a python expert, but it seemed to make sense to me to do it. using the logging feature and trying to understand what each snippet of code does helped alot to make sure i wasnt cutting and pasting inquisition code in a bad way. also, i made sure that the plain inquisition mod worked on its own before merging it.
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2008, 12:39 PM   #193
OrionVeteran
Deity
 
OrionVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 2,155
Re:

Quote:
Originally Posted by modifieda4 View Post
i made sure that the plain inquisition mod worked on its own before merging it.
The next release will have limitted religions included. Specifically, If you have already founded a religion and have the holy city, you will not be able to found a second religion. Testing is going on now.

I ran into a set back in Python, so this may take a while before I finally work out the problem.

Last edited by OrionVeteran; Aug 16, 2008 at 08:42 PM. Reason: Status
OrionVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2008, 06:03 AM   #194
keldath
LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR
 
keldath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: israel
Posts: 5,788
modifieda4
thanks for the answer.

OrionVeteran ,

im really looking forward for that!!
__________________
keldath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2008, 02:54 PM   #195
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
from the police thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionVeteran View Post
It never seemed to work right. I am thoroughly testing my new version right now, as it seems I have overcame the Python issues in the CvGameUtils.py file. The code really works great, as no civ can found more than one religion.

However, I have but one problem left: If one Civ founds all the religious techs first, no other civ can get a religion. This is very bad. I want to prevent that exploit. I believe I have a coding approach that might work.

V/R,

Orion Veteran
im still confused over your "It never seemed to work right" statement. it seems to be working for me, or am i missing something?
__________________
My mods: 23+ mod comps for BTS as of 1/22/2014
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 02:43 PM   #196
OrionVeteran
Deity
 
OrionVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 2,155
Explaination

Quote:
Originally Posted by modifieda4 View Post
from the police thread:I'm still confused over your "It never seemed to work right" statement. it seems to be working for me, or am i missing something?
I should have been more specific. In the limited Religions version, rival Civ's don't seem to found religions as quickly, as they normaly would in the version without limited religions. I have definitely fixed that problem and I am now working on a way to stop the religious tech exploit mentioned earlier.

V/R,

Orion Veteran
OrionVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 05:20 PM   #197
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionVeteran View Post
I should have been more specific. In the limited Religions version, rival Civ's don't seem to found religions as quickly, as they normaly would in the version without limited religions. I have definitely fixed that problem and I am now working on a way to stop the religious tech exploit mentioned earlier.

V/R,

Orion Veteran
ahh yes, i noticed the exact same behavior from the AI. i must have missed your fix, did you post it?
__________________
My mods: 23+ mod comps for BTS as of 1/22/2014
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2008, 09:09 PM   #198
OrionVeteran
Deity
 
OrionVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 2,155
Re:

Quote:
Originally Posted by modifieda4 View Post
ahh yes, i noticed the exact same behavior from the AI. i must have missed your fix, did you post it?
My new version is not posted yet, as I am still working on a fix for the exploit.
OrionVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2008, 09:27 AM   #199
modifieda4
Chief Time Waster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 384
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionVeteran View Post
My new version is not posted yet, as I am still working on a fix for the exploit.
Ahh, ok, keep up the good work!

in the meantime, do you have any code snippets you can post for the AI fix?
__________________
My mods: 23+ mod comps for BTS as of 1/22/2014
modifieda4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 09:44 PM   #200
OrionVeteran
Deity
 
OrionVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 2,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by modifieda4 View Post
Ahh, ok, keep up the good work!

in the meantime, do you have any code snippets you can post for the AI fix?
Last night I completed coding for both the AI and the exploit fixes. Initial testing is promising. The AI fix is available: See post 16 on the following link:

http://forums.civfanatics.com/showth...59#post7161359

You would make these function changes in the cvGameUtils.py file within Orion's Inquisition Mod. That's all you have to do to get limited religions, but it still does not stop the expliot.

The AI will found a religion as it is expected to do. In a small game, with only 3 or 4 CIVs, religion founding will appear to be a little slow, but it actually isn't. The AI will found a religion right on time, just not as many religions will be founded in the game.

As I said, the exploit fix is being tested and will guarantee a level playing field for all Civs.

Orion Veteran

Last edited by OrionVeteran; Aug 22, 2008 at 09:50 PM.
OrionVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Mod Components > Inquisition

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR